Journal articles are the cutting edge of academic dialogue about their given subject. They are a useful and necessary resource for nearly all academic research papers.
Articles from academic journals today are indexed in databases. This means we can go to a database, search by keyword, and find related articles from a broad range of journals indexed within that database.
BU has subscriptions to over 500 databases, ranging from general academic databases (ex: JSTOR) to subject databases in everything from art to medicine to sociology.
Below, you'll see some recommended databases for this particular course, alongside some helpful search tips. You can also visit our STH Library Databases page for more ideas.
An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals.
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text access to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
ASSIA indexes and abstracts articles on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Sources are from 16 countries, including the UK and US.
This database brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.
AnthroSource is an electronic archive of American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters and bulletins. It also provides seamless access to AAA journals archived in JSTOR.
