Newspaper & Magazine Databases
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
- Boston Globe (1872 - 1993) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the newspaper The Boston Globe and its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1993, please use Boston Globe 1980 - Present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). PLEASE NOTE: For articles published before 1980, please see Boston Globe (1872-1993) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local newspapers, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- American Jewish Newspapers This link opens in a new window American Jewish Newspapers provides scanned, searchable articles from four 19th and 20th century newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); The American Israelite (1854-2000); and Jewish Exponent (1887-1990). Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Ted Kyrios Memorial Book Fund.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window Identifies articles in over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The index links to full text articles available through BU subscriptions, but does not provide full text content.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window A full text archive of millions of articles published in more 700 magazines, and journals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window Eyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications.
Tips for finding key sources of current news and historical newspapers.
Television News
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels.
- C-SPAN Video Library Contains all programming since 1987
- Boston TV News Digital Library Boston area TV news footage from 1961-1999. Footage from WGBH, Cambridge Community Television, WCVB, and WHDH
NBC news coverage of demonstrations in the United States against nuclear weapons, 1983. Streaming video via Vanderbilt Television News Archive database
News Photos & Illustrations
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
President Richard Nixon studies the flood damage in the aftermath of Hurricane Agnes, near Harrisburg, Penn. from his helicopter window, June 24, 1972. The president toured the Maryland-Pennsylvania area from his retreat at Camp David, Maryland. (AP Photo/Charles Tasnadi) Via AP Images database)
