More Political Science Databases
BY TYPE
BY TITLE
- Census of Population and Housing This link opens in a new window The Census of Population and Housing is the decennial census conducted by the United States Census Bureau every 10 years since 1790. Records and information for all years are provided at this site.
- U.S. Congressional Documents This link opens in a new window Includes Congressional Record from its inception in 1873 as well as the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), among other publications.
- Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections This link opens in a new window Contains documents from the Schlesinger Library's holdings on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.
- HistoryMakers: African American Video Oral History Collection This link opens in a new window HistoryMakers is a collection of video oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans. Transcripts are included with the interviews.
- Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Topics include U.S. foreign policy, U.S. civil rights, global affairs and colonial studies, and modern history. Select Additional Info for access to specific collections.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History This link opens in a new window Covers political and legal history in the United States, including key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history.
- U.S. Supreme Court Library This link opens in a new window The official U.S. Reports derived from bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals related to the Court.
- ProQuest History Vault28 Databases providing primary source materials on important aspects of U.S. history.
Article Databases
- Politics Collection This collection, which includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
Databases included in the Politics Collection or available separately:
The Politics Collection- a two minute introduction
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides access to academic literature from many disciplines. The sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions and come from diverse places including academic publishers, online repositories and other websites.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Hein Online is a PDF collection of primary and secondary legal materials including: law reviews, law journals, and bar journals; treatises; federal statutes and legislative materials; federal regulations and executive materials; Supreme Court cases; selected state materials; titles from the American Law Institute and National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws; and a growing collection of international legal materials including United Nations publications and treaties.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908 - 1981) This link opens in a new window A retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Content is also drawn from 38 printed compendia, which provides access to approximately 540,000 records. Scope also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window EconLit contains citations and selected abstracts of international literature in the field of economics. It is produced by the American Economic Association and corresponds to the print Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles. It covers journal articles, dissertations and books, as well as chapters and articles in books and conference proceedings.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more. Provides reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including issues relating to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window This database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters level theses are included selectively.
Recent articles by BU Political Science faculty authors 2019-
Age is measured with systematic measurement error in developing country surveys: A diagnosis and analysis of consequences.
Rosenzweig, Steven C.
Research & politics .8 (3) p.1-8, 2021
Ask a Feminist: Jennifer Fluri Discusses the Gender Politics of the US Withdrawal from Afghanistan with Sandra McEvoy
Fluri, Jennifer ; McEvoy, Sandra
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society, Vol.48 (2), 2023
Black Women: Keepers of Democracy, the Democratic Process, and the Democratic Party
Slaughter, Christine ; Crowder, Chaya ; Greer, Christina
Politics & gender, p.1-20, 2024
Black Women's Optimism, Resilience, and Political Engagement in Times of Crisis
Slaughter, Christine
PHILLIS: The Journal for Research on African American Women. 2021-2022
Cartels, competition, and coalitions: the domestic drivers of international orders.
Peinert, Erik
Review of International Political Economy 28:6, 1652-1676, 2021
A century of coalitions in battle: Incidence, composition, and performance, 1900-2003
Cappella Zielinski, Rosella ; Grauer, Ryan
Journal of strategic studies, 45 (2), p.186-210, 2022
Competence versus Priorities: Negative Electoral Responses to Education Quality in Brazil.
Boas, Taylor C.; Hidalgo, F. Daniel; Toral, Guillermo
The Journal of politics, Vol. 83 (4), p.1417-1431, 2021
Competitiveness Revisited: Labour Costs, Financial Flows and the Case of Italy
Pérez, Sofia A.
German politics, Vol.30 (3), p.340-359, 2021
Conceptualising capitalism in the twenty-first century: the BRICs and the European periphery
Vasileva-Dienes, Alexandra ; Schmidt, Vivien A.
Contemporary politics, Vol.25 (3), p.255-275, 2019
County Over Party: How Governors Prioritized Geography Not Particularism in the Distribution of Opportunity Zones
Glick, David ; Palmer, Maxwell
British journal of political science Vol.52 (4), p.1902-1910, 2022
COVID ‐19, nationalism, and the politics of crisis: A scholarly exchange.
Woods, Eric Taylor ; Schertzer, Robert ; Greenfeld, Liah ; Hughes, Chris ; Miller‐Idriss, Cynthia
Nations and nationalism Vol.26 (4), p.807-825, 2020
The creative advance must be defended: Miscegenation, metaphysics, and race war in Jan Smuts’s vision of the League of Nations
Jacob Kripp
American Political Science Review 116 (3), 940-953 8 2022
Cultural Images of Labor Conflict and Coordination: Literature and the Evolution of Industrial Relations Systems
Martin, Cathie Jo ; Nijhuis, Dennie Oude ; Olsson, Erik
Archives européennes de sociologie. European journal of sociology. Vol.62 (3), p.381-419, 2021
Dangerous Disconnect: Voter Backlash, Elite Misperception, and the Costs of Violence as an Electoral Tactic
Rosenzweig, Steven C.
Political behavior 43 (4), p.1731-1754, 2021
Descended from Immigrants and Revolutionists: How Family Immigration History Shapes Representation in Congress.
Feigenbaum, James, Maxwell Palmer, and Benjamin Schneer. 2020
Working Paper
The discursive construction of discontent: varieties of populist anti-system ideas and discursive interactions in Europe
Schmidt, Vivien A.
Journal of European Integration, Vol.44 (2), p.165-182, 2022
Do Mayors Run for Higher Office? New Evidence on Progressive Ambition
Katherine Levine Einstein, David Matthew Glick, Maxwell Palmer, Pressel, Robert J.
American politics research, Vol.48 (1), p.197-221, 2020
Driving turnout: the effect of car ownership on electoral participation
de Benedictis-Kessner, Justin ; Palmer, Maxwell
Political science research and methods Vol.11 (3), 2023
The Effects of Dehumanizing Attitudes about Black People on Whites’ Voting Decisions
Jardina, Ashley ; Piston, Spencer
British journal of political science, Vol.52 (3), p.1076-1098, 2022
Electoral democracy and structural injustice
Masin‐Peters,Jonathan
Journal of social philosophy, 2021
Electoral Institutions and Substantive Representation in Local Politics: The Effects of Ranked Choice Voting
A Vishwanath
UCL Centre on US Politics Working Paper, 2021
Fiction Works: Cultural ideas and the design of industrial relations systems in Britain and Denmark
Martin, Cathie Jo
Industrial relations (Berkeley) Vol.61 (1), p.50-67, 2022
Foreign direct investment screening and congressional backlash politics in the United States
Canes-Wrone, Brandice, Mattioli, Lauren, Meunier, Sophie
British journal of politics & international relations, Vol.22 (4), p.666-678, 2020
Freelance Revolutionist: Agnes Smedley in Wartime China, 1937-1941
Mayers, David
Diplomacy and statecraft Vol.33 (2), p.233-256, 2022
From Decentralization to Reorganization: Explaining the Return to National Bargaining in Italy and Spain
Perez, SA
Comparative politics, Vol.32 (4), p.437-458, 2000
Hiding in plain sight: Dehumanization as a foundation of white racial prejudice
Jardina, Ashley ; Piston, Spencer
Sociology compass, Vol.15 (9), 2021
How Neomercantilist Japan Became a Leading Defender of Economic Openness.
Grimes, William W.
Asia policy, Vol.27 (4), p.146-149, 2020
Ideas and power in employment relations studies
Carstensen, Martin B. ; Ibsen, Christian Lyhne ; Schmidt, Vivien A.
Industrial relations (Berkeley), Vol.61 (1), p.3-21, 2022
Increasing Precision without Altering Treatment Effects: Repeated Measures Designs in Survey Experiments
Clifford, Scott ; Sheagley, Geoffrey; Piston, Spencer
The American political science review, Vol.115 (3), p.1048-1065, 2021
Intersectionality, Depression, and Voter Turnout
Ojeda, Christopher; Slaughter Christine M.
Journal of health politics, policy and law Vol.44 (3), p.479-504, 2019
Is the Supreme Court’s Legitimacy Vulnerable to Intense Appointment Politics? Democrats’Changing Views Around Justice Ginsburg’s Death
David Glick
Journal of Law and Courts, Vol 11, No 1. 2023
Land of the freeholder: how property rights make local voting rights
Einstein, Katherine Levine; Palmer, Maxwell
Journal of Historical Political Economy, 1(4), 499-530, 2021
The limits of criminal justice reform: an analysis of elite rhetoric in four cities
Tatz, Erin ; Bekele, Helen ; Mattioli, Lauren ; Piston, Spencer
Journal of public policy, 2024
Manifesting the embedded developmental state: the role of South Korea's National Pension Service in managing financial crisis
Lee, Yaechan ; Grimes, William W.
Review of international political economy : RIPE, Vol.30 (5), p.1933-1956, 2023
Measuring and Modeling Neighborhoods
Jacob R. Brown Cory McCartan and Kosuke Imai
American Political Science Review, 2024
Monopoly Politics: Price Competition, Learning, and the Evolution of Policy Regimes,
Peinert, Erik
World Politics 75(3), 566-607, 2023
Nationalism and Protest
Liah Greenfeld
SAIS Review of International Affairs, Vol.40,(2), p.5-14, 2020
Neither Seen Nor Heard: Children's Citizenship in Contemporary Democracies
Elizabeth F Cohen
Citizenship Studies, Vol.9(2), p.221-240, 2005
The Obama Effect? Race, First-time Voting, and Future Participation.
Jacob R. Brown
Political Science Research and Methods 12 (2), 249-266, 2023
Organizing for performance: coalition effectiveness on the battlefield
Cappella Zielinski, Rosella ; Grauer, Ryan
European journal of international relations, Vol.26 (4), p.953-978, 2020
A Partisan Solution to Partisan Gerrymandering: The Define–Combine Procedure
Palmer, Maxwell ; Schneer, Benjamin ; DeLuca, Kevin
Political analysis, 2023
Partisanship, Economic Assessments, and Presidential Accountability
Z Ang, A Reeves, JC Rogowski, A Vishwanath
American Journal of Political Science Vol.66 (2), p.468-484 2022
Pay to Play? How Reducing APSA Division Fees Increases Graduate Student Participation
Fairbanks, Bailey R. ; Neuner, Fabian G. ; Perera, Isabel M. ; Slaughter, Christine M.
PS, political science & politics, Vol.54 (4), p.645-650, 2021
Paying the defense bill: financing American and Chinese geostrategic competition
S Gerstle, R Cappella Zielinski
Texas National Security Review 6 (2), (OpenBU), 2023
Perceptions of Public Health Priorities and Accountability Among US Mayors.
Luisa Godinez Puig; Katharine Lusk; David Glick; Katherine L. Einstein; Maxwell Palmer; Stacy Fox; Monica L. Wang
Public health reports, Vol.136 (2), p.161-171, 2021
The Pleasure(s) of Freedom.
Lida Maxwell
Theory & Event, Vol. 23 (1), p. 207-214, 2020
Policies Make Politicians: Intermediaries, State Benefits, and Political Entrepreneurship in Brazil
Taylor C. Boas, F. Daniel Hidalgo, Yuri Kasahara, and Monique Menezes
Journal of Politics 2024
The Politics and Gender of Truth-Telling in Foucault’s Lectures on Parrhesia
Lida Maxwell
Contemporary Political Theory 18, 2019
The Politics of Racist Dehumanization in the United States
Jardina, Ashley ; Piston, Spencer
Annual review of political science, Vol.26 (1), p.369-388, 2023
Public money talks too: How public campaign financing degrades representation
M Kilborn, A Vishwanath
American Journal of Political Science 66 (3), 730-744 16 2022
Race, legislative speech, and symbolic representation in Congress
Vishwanath, Arjun
American journal of political science, 2024
Religion, Sexuality Politics, and the Transformation of Latin American Electorates
Amy Erica Smith and Taylor C. Boas
British Journal of Political Science, Dec., 2023
Responsiveness and Responsibility in the EU Post-Pandemic Economic Governance
A Crespy, T Moreira Ramalho, V Schmidt
Special Issue of the Journal of European Public Policy, 2023
Revisiting the Theory of Broken Windows Policing
S. Piston
International Journal of Criminology and Sociology, Volume 12, pp.141-150, 2023
Serving the Law or Playing Politics? The Strategic Use of U.S. Attorney Appointments
Kinane, Christina M., Mattioli, Lauren
Presidential studies quarterly Vol.52 (1), p.107-139, 2022
Still Muted: The Limited Participatory Democracy of Zoom Public Meetings
Einstein, Katherine Levine ; Glick, David ; Godinez Puig, Luisa ; Palmer, Maxwell
Urban affairs review (Thousand Oaks, Calif.),p.107808742110704, 2022
Theorizing institutional change and governance in European responses to the Covid-19 pandemic.
Schmidt, Vivien A.
Journal of European Integration Vol. 42, (8) , p. 1177-1193, 2020
Trickle-down racism: Trump's effect on whites’ racist dehumanizing attitudes
Jardina, Ashley ; Piston, Spencer
Current research in ecological and social psychology, Vol.5, Article 100158, 2023
Understanding Coalitions in Battle
Rosella Cappella Zielinski and Ryan Grauer
The Journal of Strategic Studies. 45(2): 186-210, 2022
What We Talk about When We Talk about Poverty: Culture and Welfare State Development in Britain, Denmark and France
Martin, Cathie ; Chevalier, Tom
British journal of political science, vol.52 (2), p.805-828, 2022
Who Participates in Focus Groups? Diagnosing Self-Selection
Taylor C. Boas
PS: Political Science & Politics, April 2024
“Who Represents the Renters?”
Einstein, Katherine Levine, Joseph Ornstein, and Maxwell Palmer.
Housing Policy Debate. 2022
Librarian
Govinfo
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
What's Available
- Budget of the U.S. Government
- Economic Indicators
- Federal Register
- U.S. Government Manual
- Congressional Bills
- Congressional Documents
- History of Bills
- Congressional Hearings
- Congressional Record
- Economic Report of the President
- Compilation of Presidential Documents
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the US
- Supreme Court Decisions
- U.S. Courts Opinions
- U.S. Code
Politics Collection
Four databases covering political science, public policy and related fields.
Subject coverage
- Comparative politics
- Electoral systems
- Environmental and energy policy
- Government
- International relations
- Political behavior
- Political economy
- Political science
- Public policy
.
Mapping and visualization tool.
U.S. demographic, economic and social data by city, state, zip code, county or census tract.
Types of data include crime, housing, health, education and occupations.