Country Snapshots
- BBC News Country Profiles Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Online version of Encyclopædia Britannica along Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and other reference sources.
- Country Studies (via Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
- CIA World Fact BookProvides important unclassified CIA data for more than 250 countries. Covers a wide range of topics including economics, politics, geography and foreign relations. Updated every two weeks.
- Global Edge Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University, this Website includes information from a variety of government sources organized in a convenient format. See Country Insights, Trade Bloc Insights, and Industry Insights.
- U.S. State Department: Background Notes Essay-style information on geographic regions and international organizations. Data is updated as deemed necessary, and thus publication dates range from the early 1990s to very recent.
Country Statistics
- Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Reports This link opens in a new window
Each country page in the EIU database provides forecast updates and featured analysis on economic and political events as well as content pertaining to market opportunities, government regulations and the financial services sector.
- The International Data Base (U.S. Census Bureau) (IDB) is a computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
- List of National Statistical Agencies (UN) The United Nations Statistics Division, in its mission to promote the development of national statistical systems, has developed a central repository of country profiles of statistical systems. The country profiles include, among others, a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical program, & much more.
- Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online (United Nations) Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) contains statistics from over 200 countries including social, economic and financial indicators.
* For more statistics from the United Nations, see the UN Data Portal and UNSD Statistical Databases.
Finding Articles & News
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local newspapers, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
- Newspapers and News Media A Research Guide includes directions on finding international newspapers and some direct links.
Librarian
.
