Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational FilmsEthnographic Video Online, Vol. I-II: Foundational Films contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III: Indigenous VoicesEthnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices contains documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
Ethnographic Video Online, Volume IV: Festivals and ArchivesEthnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives contains award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. The collection also includes field recordings and edited films by students and faculty from universities and institutions around the world, including Berkeley Media and Manchester's Granada Centre for Visual Anthropology.
Ethnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching EditionEthnographic Video Online, Royal Anthropological Institute Teaching Edition contains a curriculum-aligned collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection are accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and classroom exercises and activities.
Academic Video OnlineAcademic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
The question of whether the languages we speak shape the ways we think has been at the center of controversy for centuries, and with good reason. At stake are basic questions all of us have about ourselves, human nature, and reality. Why do we think the way we do? Why does the world appear to us the way it does? Lera Boroditsky discusses research conducted around the world and focus on how language shapes the way we think about color, space, time, causality, and agency.
A World of Gestures shows people from dozens of countries performing gestures that are by turns powerful, provocative, poignant, subtle -- and sometimes outrageous. The video examines angry gestures, obscene gestures, friendly gestures, warning gestures, the development of gestures in children, gang gestures, secret gestures, and embarrassing gestures. Many types of gestures are illustrated, including those for beauty, sexual behavior, suicide, aggression, and love.The video also examines the meaning and function of gestures as a form of nonverbal communication and studies their origins and emotional significance. Many issues are explored: Why do some cultures have many obscene gestures and others none? How are new gestures created in a society? How do children acquire "fluency" in gestures? A World of Gestures is essential viewing for a wide variety of courses in psychology, sociology, communication, speech, and anthropology. Viewers are guaranteed a greatly enhanced appreciation of cultural diversity and richness -- and of the power of nonverbal communication.