Related Guides
Background Sources
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online This link opens in a new window Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online (AAT) provides a structured vocabulary of terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture. The extent of the AAT ranges from Antiquity to the present, and the scope is global.
- The Oxford dictionary of the Renaissance Even in contemporary Europe there is much evidence of the enduring influence of the Renaissance - in thought and society as well as in art, architecture, literature and science. This illustrated A-Z reference provides information on all aspects of the Renaissance in Europe.
- The Hutchinson encyclopedia of the Renaissance Authoritative companion to the Renaissance, covering not only Italy but developments in the arts, sciences, and ideas across Europe.
- Architectural Styles : A Visual Guide A hand-drawn guide to architectural styles throughout history.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art offers the most current and comprehensive scholarly information on the visual arts of the Renaissance in Northern Europe. Unparalleled in scope and depth, covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe.
- Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on artists from Italy, Flanders, the Netherlands, Germany, Spain, and Portugal, historical figures and events that impacted the production of Renaissance art. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Renaissance art.
