Legio Maria - Nancy Schwartz Collection
This collection comprises materials collected by Nancy "Penny" Schwartz during her anthropological research on the Legio Maria religious movement in Kenya.
The Legio Maria, or Legio Maria of African Church Mission, is an African-initiated church initiated among the Luo of western Kenya. It branched off of the Catholic Church in the 1960's and became an officially recognized church in Kenya in 1966.
The collection includes field notes, field recordings, manuscripts of Schwartz's doctoral dissertation, religious artifacts, and her personal library of books and articles on Kenya, Legio Maria and related faiths, and Luo language and culture.
Please note that portions of this collection are still in processing, but may be consulted in the African Studies Library Reading Room upon request.
Click here to browse books and materials from her collection.
Old and New in Shona Religion
This multimedia website highlights the work of BU professor, Dr. M.L. Daneel in his research among the Shona people of Southern Africa in the 1960s through the 1990s, documenting African initiated churches and traditional religions. The collection includes photographs, films, books, etc.
Click here to view the collection: Old and New in Shona Religion -- http://sites.bu.edu/shonareligion
Online Collections
- Norman Miller Archive (focus: East Africa) A collection of field notes, rare documents, films, and photographs with a focus on eastern Africa. It includes a portion on 'witch-hunting / witchcraft'.
Head, African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm