Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions by
This important reference covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific. Entries encompass individuals, concepts, specific religions, religious movements and churches, and include: Akan, Aladura, AzusaStreet Mission, Black theology, candomble, Dominicanvodun, the Harrist movement, Jamaa, Macumba, Mission desNoirs, Mt. Sinai Holy Church, Nuer, Pentecostalism,Pocomania, Santería, Southern Christian LeadershipConference, Unification Church, Yoruba,and many more. Photos, illustrations, and source material round out the package.
ISBN: 9780415922456Publication Date: 2001-01-16
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought by
From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anti-colonialist movements of Pan-Africanism and Negritude, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition both on the continent in its entirety and throughout the African Diasporain the Americas and in Europe. The term "African thought" has been interpreted in the broadest sense to embrace all those forms of discourse - philosophy, political thought, religion, literature, important social movements - that contribute to the formulation of a distinctive vision of the worlddetermined by or derived from the African experience. The Encyclopedia is a large-scale work of 350 entries covering major topics involved in the development of African Thought including historical figures and important social movements, producing a collection that is an essential resource forteaching, an invaluable companion to independent research, and a solid guide for further study.
ISBN: 9780195334739Publication Date: 2010-04-27
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara by
This 4-vol. set covers its people, its cultures, and its complex history. Intended for students and the general reader, the Encyclopedia provides current and accurate information in more than 1,000 articles on the sub-Saharan region. The articles describe such topics as archaeology family and kinship; government; politics and law; and African arts; cultures; and languages.
ISBN: 9780684804668Publication Date: 1997-12-01
African Traditional Religion in South Africa by
In a changing South Africa, recovering the meaning and power of African tradition is a matter of crucial importance. This work participates in that recovery by providing a comprehensive guide to research on the indigenous religious heritage of this dynamic country. Detailed reviews of over 600 books, articles, and theses are offered along with introductory essays and detailed annotations that define the field of study. This work plus two forthcoming volumes, Christianity in South Africa: An Annotated Bibliography and Islam, Hinduism, and Judaism in South Africa: An Annotated Bibliography will become the standard reference work on South African religions. Scholars and students in Religious Studies, Social Anthropology, History, and African Studies will find this set particularly useful. This work organizes and annotates all the relevant literature on Khoisan, Xhosa, Zulu, Sotho-Tswana, Swazi, Tsonga, and Venda traditions. The annotations are concise yet detailed essays written in an engaging and accessible style and supported by an exhaustive index, which comprise a full and complex profile of African traditional religion in South Africa.
ISBN: 9780313304743Publication Date: 1997-08-07
The Culture and Customs of Africa series includes a introductory section on "World View and Religion" .
Culture and Customs of Tanzania by
This book provides a fascinating, up-to-date overview of the social, cultural, economic, and political landscapes of Tanzania. * Describes historical events from the late 1800s to the present day * Provides several maps depicting Tanzania's location in Africa, major physical features, administrative units, urban areas, ethnic groups, and population distribution * Contains an interdisciplinary bibliography of sources in the areas of geography, history, anthropology, and popular culture * Includes a glossary of key terms, places, cities, ethnic groups, and personalities
ISBN: 9780313087080Publication Date: 2013-01-24
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies