Systematic Review Databases
- Cochrane Library- Mental Health The Cochrane Library Includes, among other databases, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.The primary focus of the library is health care but there is a section on mental health.
- Campbell Collaboration Online Library The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice.
- PROSPERO PROSPERO includes protocol details for systematic reviews relevant to health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome.
- EPPI Centre The EPPI-Centre it is involved in developing methods for systematic reviews and research syntheses, conducting reviews, supporting others to undertake reviews, and providing guidance and training in this area.
Databases with Systematic Review Limiters
Tips for Limiting to Systematic Reviews
Limit to Systematic Review under Methodology in PsycINFO and PsycArticles.
Limit to Systematic Review under Publication Type in CINAHL.
Limit to Systematic Reviews in PubMed by clicking into Clinical Queries on the main search page.
Additional Databases
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window This database includes the full text of articles from more than 500 journals. It covers a broad range of topics related to psychology and the behavioral sciences including observational and experimental methods, child and adolescent psychology, and many areas of counseling. Date coverage: 1945-
- APA PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to books and book chapters including classic psychology texts dating from the 1600s. Also includes entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology published by the American Psychological Association and Oxford University Press. Date coverage: 1644-
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews. It also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Forty percent of the content is published outside of North America. Date coverage: 1952 - present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is one of the core general science databases covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and allows the user to search conference proceedings.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window ASSIA indexes and abstracts articles on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Sources are from 16 countries, including the UK and US. Date coverage: 1987 - present.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window This database includes the full text and abstracts of articles from over 1300 journals in the social work and human services fields. It also includes citations to dissertations and theses. Topics covered include social work practice, social welfare, community and mental health services, and crisis intervention. Date coverage: 1980-
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database covers current public policy issues and areas of potential legislation. Cited articles, books and documents can date back to 1910 and are listed in the original language. While some full text is included, the index primarily links to full text articles available through existing BU subscriptions. Date coverage: Approximately 1910 - present.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new window This database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters theses are included selectively. Date coverage: full text 1997 - present; abstracts 1980 - present; indexing 1861 - present.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window ERIC is a collection of journal articles, association reports, conference papers, government documents, books and other materials on education-related topics. Some items are available in full text. This database is particularly useful for public policy, curriculum studies, administration, and youth literature. Date coverage: 1960s - present with some earlier items.
- Education Database This link opens in a new window Education Database provides access to a large number of academic publications, including many articles in full text. The coverage spans all levels of education and is particularly strong in the topics of special education, educational administration, early childhood education, and higher education. Date coverage: 1988 - present.
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window This database includes the full text and abstracts of articles that cover essential topics related to social gerontology including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, and society and the elderly. Date coverage: 1989-
Grey Literature
Grey Literature may include technical or research reports from government agencies and research groups, controlled trial registers, and conference proceedings. Some useful grey literature databases are:
- Social Sciences Research Network Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
- OpenGrey Provides open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents. OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities. The site includes preprints from the GL conferences (GreyNet International) in full text.
- ClinicalTrials.gov ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
- Cogprints CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
- OpenDoar Directory of Open Access Repositories is a global directory of academic open access repositories and their policies.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science includes Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)
