Related Guides
Find Articles
Art & Architecture
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes American state and regional periodicals, professional association publications, and the major journals on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Subject areas are architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Includes obituary citations.
Humanities
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Accessed via Web of Science, this database provides comprehensive data on bibliographic & citation information. Researchers can identify which later articles have cited any particular earlier article, or have cited the articles of any particular author, or have been cited most frequently. Searches notable and significant journals across more than 25 disciplines.
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals.
Searching Across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window Use the "Articles" filter on the screen's right. BULS retrieves full-text journal articles. For additional articles, search the databases listed here.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window An index to works, primarily in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and books.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
Featured Journals
- Artibus Asiae Artibus Asiae is a semi-annual publication of original scholarly articles, research notes, and book reviews devoted to the history of art and archaeology of Asia. While the great majority of articles are written in English, some issues contain contributions in German and French.
- Artibus Asiae. Supplementum (monographic studies) Artibus Asiae Publishers have produced 50 monographs since 1937. The series Artibus Asiae Supplementum complements the journal and presents a broad range of lavishly illustrated studies.
- Archives of Asian Art Since its establishment in 1945, Archives of Asian Art has been devoted to publishing new scholarship on the art and architecture of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. Articles discuss premodern and contemporary visual arts, archaeology, architecture, and the history of collecting.
- Archives of the Chinese Art Society of America The former (1945-2005) name of the Archives of Asian Art.
- Ars Orientalis Cosponsored by the Department of the History of Art, University of Michigan, and the Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution, Ars Orientalis is a peer-reviewed annual volume of scholarly articles and book reviews on the art and archaeology of Asia, including the ancient Near East and the Islamic world.
- Orientations Orientations is a bimonthly print magazine published in Hong Kong and distributed worldwide since 1969. It is an authoritative source of information on the many and varied aspects of the arts of East and Southeast Asia, the Himalayas, the Indian subcontinent, and the Middle East, from the latest scholarly research to market analysis and current news. It is an essential addition to any art library.
- Journal of Chinese Religions The Journal of Chinese Religions (JCR) is the longest-standing journal in the field of Chinese religions. It is a peer-reviewed, bi-annual academic journal that publishes research articles, book reviews, and other communications on all aspects of Chinese religions.
- Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies The Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies (ISSN 0-193-600XX) is the organ of the International Association of Buddhist Studies. The JIABS welcomes scholarly contributions in all areas of Buddhist Studies.
- Journal of Southeast Asian Studies The Journal of Southeast Asian Studies is one of the principal outlets for scholarly articles on Southeast Asia (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, East Timor, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam). Embracing a wide range of academic disciplines in the humanities and social sciences, the journal publishes manuscripts oriented toward a scholarly readership but written to be accessible to non-specialists. The extensive book review section includes works in Southeast Asian languages.
- Journal of Asian Studies The Journal of Asian Studies (JAS) has played a defining role in the field of Asian studies for over 75 years. JAS publishes the very best empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies.
- Journal of the American Academy of Religion The Journal of the American Academy of Religion is generally considered to be the top academic journal in the field of religious studies. This international quarterly journal publishes top scholarly articles that cover the full range of world religious traditions together with provocative studies of the methodologies by which these traditions are explored.
