Articles about this subject can be found in publications from a wide variety of disciplines. Use the databases on this page to get access to thousands of articles examining the subject from different perspectives or browse the key publications shown.
If the full text of an article is not available in a database, click on the icon to find other options for getting the article.
The following searchable databases can be used to find find journal articles.
Gale Global Issues in Context(Courtesy of the Massachusetts Library System) This database provides resources in context: primary source materials, opinion pieces, peer-reviewed journals, etc.
PAIS IndexThis link opens in a new windowThe PAIS International database covers current public policy issues and areas of potential legislation. Cited articles, books and documents can date back to 1910 and are listed in the original language. While some full text is included, the index primarily links to full text articles available through existing BU subscriptions. Date coverage: Approximately 1910 - present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts international relations, political science, and foreign affairs literature. May include references to dissertations, books, or scholarly articles. Some full text included; links provided to BU content. Date coverage: 1975 - present.
CIRI Human Rights DatasetThe CIRI Human Rights Dataset contains standards-based quantitative information on government respect for 15 internationally recognized human rights for 202 countries, annually from 1981-2011. It is designed for use by scholars and students who seek to test theories about the causes and consequences of human rights violations, as well as policy makers and analysts who seek to estimate the human rights effects of a wide variety of institutional changes and public policies including democratization, economic aid, military aid, structural adjustment, and humanitarian intervention.
United Nations Databases (various)Includes:
*Human Rights by Country
*UN Charter Body Database--Search for documents and information pertaining to UN Charter-based human rights bodies, including the Human Rights Council and its predecessor, the Commission on Human Rights.
*UN Treaty Bodies Database--Search for documents and information pertaining to the core international human rights treaties.
*OHCHR's Database on practical means to combat racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowFind full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
International NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowInternational, searchable, full text coverage of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.) Date coverage: 1977 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowFull text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
PressReaderThis link opens in a new windowFull-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
Online News Sources
African Newspapers GuideA guide to print and online newspapers available through Boston University as well as a listing of online newspapers by country.
Al Jazeera News: AfricaAl Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government. Launched in 1996, Al Jazeera Arabic was the first independent news channel in the Arab world dedicated to providing comprehensive news and live debate. Al Jazeera English, which was launched in 2006, is part of a growing network comprising more than 10 channels and divisions, with 70 bureaus worldwide.
AllAfrica NewsAllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 800 news and information items daily from over 130 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public. We operate from Cape Town, Dakar, Abuja, Johannesburg, Nairobi and Washington DC.
Pambazuka Newsopen access, Pan-African e-mail and online electronic newsletter. ... Since its inception in 2000, the newsletter's mission has been to provide a platform for social justice in Africa, for example, by promoting human rights for refugees.