Related Guides
Article & Dissertation Databases
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide access for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window AnthroSource is an electronic archive of American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters and bulletins. It also provides seamless access to AAA journals archived in JSTOR.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles and industry news on all areas of tourism and hospitality. Areas covered include: culinary arts; food and beverage management; hospitality law; hotel management, leisure and travel, market trends.
Searching Across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window This database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters level theses are included selectively.
Newspaper Databases
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.)
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.
- New York Times (1851 - 2020) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text of the New York Times back issues. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2020, please use Nexis Uni.
- Boston Globe (1872 - 1993) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the newspaper The Boston Globe and its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1993, please use Boston Globe 1980 - Present.
- Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). PLEASE NOTE: For articles published before 1980, please see Boston Globe (1872-1993) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1999) This link opens in a new window Full-page and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Chicago Tribune and all its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1999, please use Nexis Uni.
- Los Angeles Times (1881- 2000) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Los Angeles Times under all its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2000, please use Nexis Uni.
Selected Journals & Magazines
- Food, Culture & Society An international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
- Food and Foodways Food and Foodways is a refereed, interdisciplinary, and international journal devoted to publishing original scholarly articles on the history and culture of human nourishment.
- CuiZine: The Journal of Canadian Food Cultures CuiZine: The Journal of Canadian Food Cultures / CuiZine : revue des cultures culinaires au Canada nourishes intellectual exchanges on the subject of food in Canada from multicultural perspectives.
- Gastronomica Gastronomica is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal publishing critical, translational studies on food.
- PressReader food magazines Browse recent issues of food magazines from Canada and the United States.
- NYFoodStory: The Journal of the Culinary Historians of New York Join us as we explore the past and present gastronomic life of New York—its shifting trends in restaurants, changing dining etiquette, cutting-edge shops and innovative foods, and ever-changing ethnic markets, all reflecting the evolving mosaic that comprises its population.
