Russian-English Dictionaries
- Lexibase Intranet / Collins Dictionaries This link opens in a new window Online versions of Collins bilingual dictionaries including: English-French; English-Chinese; English-German; English-Italian; English-Russian; and German-Spanish.
- PONS English-Russian Dictionary This comprehensive PONS English-Russian Dictionary offers over 350,000 headwords, phrases and translations from English into Russian and from Russian into English.
The Oxford Russian Dictionary by
A new two-way English-Russian Dictionary which contains over 180,000 entries and 290,000 translations. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date two way Russian dictionary in existence and is the ideal reference for students, translators and business executives. "One of the most current and comprehensive dictionaries in this price range, with 180,000 words and phrases and 290,000 definitions."--Library Journal
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PG2640 .O94 1993 )Publication Date: 1993
English-Russian, Russian-English Dictionary by
Based on American rather than British English, this is among the first Russian dictionaries revised for the post-Soviet era. Includes new political terminology, new Russian institutions, new countries and republics and new city names. Contains 26,000 entries in the English-Russian section and 40,000 words in the Russian-English section. Irregularities in Russian declensions and conjugations appear at the beginning of each entry.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PG2640 .K34 1994 )Publication Date: 1994
Russian Dictionaries
- Tolkovyĭ slovarʹ : v chetyrekh tomakh byLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PG2625 .D3 1989 )Publication Date: 1989
- Slovarʹ russkago i︠a︡zyka byPublication Date: 1984
Historical Dictionaries
Russian Etymological Dictionary by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PG2580 .W33 1996 )Publication Date: 1996This dictionary provides a systematic analysis of Russian word derivations, describing the etymology of 1500 central words in the language. In the introduction, the author traces the development of Russian vocabulary and focuses on factors that have affected semantic and lexical change. In the main part of the book, a typical entry gives the present meaning of the word, the dates of the first appearance in the language and of subsequent meaning changes, and details of orthographical, phonetic and social factors that have affected its development. Cognate words in Russian and other languages help to place each word in its linguistic context.
