Skip to Main Content
Digital Collections
Europeana
Resources from European archives, broadcasters, museums, universities, research institutes and private collectors.
Mapping St. Petersburg
The annotated maps are the main focus of the site, plotting the events, places, notebooks, ambiguities and institutions in Crime and Punishment, two different maps of Gogol’s Petersburg Tales, and overlay maps showing historic administrative districts and the use of old cartography. There are also background sections covering Petersburg, Dostoevsky, and Crime and Punishment, and bibliographies on Petersburg, Dostoevsky, and Cities, Spaces, Cartographies.
Andrei Sakharov Archives at Harvard University
Centered on the papers of physicist Andrei Sakharov, with extensive material on Sakharov's scientific career, personal life, and human rights activities, as well as the papers of other human rights activists.
Bakhmeteff Archive (Columbia University)
The main goal of the Bakhmeteff Archive of Russian and East European History and Culture is to preserve and document the Russian and East European émigré heritage, as well as to serve the general curricular needs of the students and faculty of Columbia University. The Archive also plays a significant role as a rich source of information for scholars from the United States and abroad studying subjects related to the Russian diaspora and Eastern European émigré communities.
Pushkin House
Includes digital publications of the Russian Academy of Sciences Institute of Russian Literature (Pushkinskii dom). Also includes links to various online reference tools.
The Bakhtin Centre
The Centre's original purpose was to promote multi- and inter-disciplinary research on the work of the Russian philosopher and theorist Mikhail Bakhtin and the Bakhtin Circle, and on related areas of cultural, critical, linguistic and literary theory. Its scope thus already extended beyond the limits of traditional Russian and Slavic studies and as the Centre has developed and research has proceeded, it had moved beyond a limited focus on the Bakhtin Circle to embrace study of then development of theories of culture in Russia and the USSR, and to related fields.
Websites
The Russian Empire & the Soviet Union: A Guide to Manuscripts & Archival Materials in the U.S.
This guide lists materials in U.S. archives and manuscript repositories that relate to the Russian Empire, Soviet Union, and the many distinct nationalities therein. The materials described in the guide are extremely diverse in character. They cover the broadest possible range of subjects: political, historical, social, economic, diplomatic, artistic, literary, religious, military, musical, and other matters. The combined subject and name index at the end of the volume is the key to locating desired materials in the approximately 650 different entries.
Scope
National Library of Russia
Provides access to the collection of the National Library of Russia in Saint Petersburg. Special attention is traditionally paid to the acquisition of foreign works about Russia and publications in languages of the Russian Federation printed in different countries of the world. The Library also builds as comprehensively as possible the multi-language collection of literature on key branches of science and technology.
Today the National Library of Russia houses more then 34.5 million items, of which 6.2 million items are in foreign languages.
International Dostoevsky Bibliography, 1985-2007
An Integrated List of the Annual Bibliography of Dostoevsky Studies: Journal of the International Dostoevsky Society for the Years 1985-2007.
Edited and compiled by June Pachuta Farris
Bibliographer for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies, University of Chicago Library.
Project for the Study of Dissidence and Samizdat
The Electronic Archive “Project for the Study of Dissidence and Samizdat” (PSDS) includes the database of Soviet samizdat periodicals, electronic editions of selected samizdat journals, illustrated timelines of dissident movements, and interviews with activists. The Project aims to make rare materials more widely available and to provoke questions about the trajectories of groups and individuals within the varied field of Soviet dissidence and nonconformist culture.
Gulag Bibliography | Dr. Sarah J. Young
Online bibliography of Gulag memoirs (in Russian and English)
Words without Borders
Founded in 2003, Words Without Borders promotes cultural understanding through the translation, publication, and promotion of the finest contemporary international literature.
