Related Guides
Background Sources
- World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gathers to the Age of Globalization Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement. Articles also include specific foodstuffs such as chocolate, potatoes, and tomatoes; topics such as Mediterranean diet and the Spice Route; and pivotal figures such as Marco Polo, Columbus, and Catherine de' MΘdici. Special features include: dozens of recipes representing different historic periods and cuisines of the world; listing of herbal foods and uses; and a chronology of key events/people in food history.
- Countries and their Cultures Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
- The Food and Culture around the World Handbook This book provides specific information on the food and culture of each of the 195 countries in the world. Designed to be consistent and concise, it uses an outline format that details the cultural factors related to food ( such as geography, ethnic group, religions and education) and the food itself ( such as typical dishes, special occasion foods, meals and service and street food and snacks).
- A Cultural History of Food A Cultural History of Food presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers nearly 3,000 years of food and its physical, spiritual, social and cultural dimensions.
- World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gathers to the Age of Globalization Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement. Articles also include specific foodstuffs such as chocolate, potatoes, and tomatoes; topics such as Mediterranean diet and the Spice Route; and pivotal figures such as Marco Polo, Columbus, and Catherine de' MΘdici. Special features include: dozens of recipes representing different historic periods and cuisines of the world; listing of herbal foods and uses; and a chronology of key events/people in food history.
- From Famine to Fast Food : Nutrition, Diet, and Concepts of Health around the World A country's food culture and eating habits directly impact the health and well-being of its citizens. Economic factors contribute to problems such as obesity and malnourishment. This book examines how diet affects health in countries around the world, discussing how the availability of food and the types of foods eaten influence numerous health factors and are tied to the prevalence of "lifestyle" disease.
- At the Table : Food and Family Around the World Some 50 countries are covered in chapters focusing on present-day meal habits in Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Africa, and North and South America. The commentary covers everything about the meal, such as the time, the cooking and preparation, shopping for ingredients, the clean-up process, gender-based participation roles, conversation or other social interactions, and etiquette--just about everything that happens at the table.
- Sundays at Moosewood Africa south of the Sahara; Armenia and the Middle East; British Isles; Caribbean; Chile; China; Eastern Europe; Finland; India -- Italy; Japan; Jewish; Mexico; New England; North Africa and the northeast African highlands; Provence; Southeast Asia; Southern United States. From the Moosewood Restaurant in Ithaca, New York, presents vegetarian recipes from around the world. Includes a section on cross-cultural menu planning as well as an extensive guide to ingredients, techniques, and equipment.
- The Oxford Handbook of Food History This book chronicles the history of food. It starts with the Columbian Exchange, a term coined in 1972 by the historian Alfred Crosby to refer to the flow of plants, animals and microbes across the Atlantic Ocean and beyond. It then explores the spice trade during the medieval period, the social biography and politics of food, and how food history is connected with race and ethnicity in the United States. The book also focuses on cookbooks as an important primary source for historians;
- The Oxford Companion to Food Over 3,000 entries on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.
Caribbean
Central America
South America
