Professional Associations
- American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages Member organization dedicated to teaching and learning of foreign languages.
- Association for Computational Linguistics ACL is an international scientific and educational organization for the scientific study of language
- International Association of Applied Linguistics AILA is an international federation of national and regional associations of Applied Linguistics
- Linguistic Society of America The LSA works to advance the scientific study of language. The organization supports research on the documentation and preservation of languages.
- Linguistics Research Center The LRC provides linguistic resources for study on Indo-European languages and cultures
- Modern Language Association Provides opportunities for the members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy. Works to strengthen the study and teaching of language and literature.
- SIL International SIL International is a faith-based nonprofit organization that works with communities worldwide on sustainable language development
Websites
- LINGUIST List Online forum for academic linguists to discuss linguistic issues
- LInguistic Data Consortium The Linguistic Data Consortium (LDC), hosted by the University of Pennsylvania, is an open consortium of universities, libraries, corporations and government research laboratories. The organization creates and distributes a variety of linguistic resources, including data, tools and standards.
- List of BU licensed corpora from Linguistic Data Consortium BU has licensed several corpora, which are available to BU researchers free of charge.
Corpora
- BYU Corpora Open Access corpora created by Mark Davies, Professor of Linguistics at Brigham Young University. Most corpora for American or British English, but does include a Spanish and Portuguese corpus. Wide range of chronological periods.
- Helsinki Corpus of English Texts The Helsinki Corpus of English Texts is a structured multi-genre diachronic corpus, which includes periodically organized text samples from Old, Middle and Early Modern English. Each sample is preceded by a list of parameter codes giving information on the text and its author. The Corpus is useful particularly in the study of the change of linguistic features in long diachrony. It can be used as a diagnostic corpus giving general information of the occurrence of forms, structures and lexemes in different periods of English.
- Lancaster Corpus of Mandarin Chinese The Lancaster Corpus of Mandarin Chinese (LCMC) is designed as a Chinese match for the FLOB and FROWN corpora for modern British and American English. The corpus is suitable for use in both monolingual research into modern Mandarin Chinese and cross-linguistic contrast of Chinese and British/American English. The corpus sampled 15 written text categories including news, literary texts, academic prose and official documents etc published in P.R.China in the early 1990s.
- The EMILLE Lancaster Corpus The EMILLE Corpus has been constructed as part of a collaborative venture between the EMILLE project (Enabling Minority Language Engineering), Lancaster University, UK, and the Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL), Mysore, India. EMILLE is distributed by the European Language Resources Association. The corpus consists of three components: monolingual, parallel and annotated corpora. There are fourteen monolingual corpora, including both written and (for some languages) spoken data for fourteen South Asian languages: Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Sinhala, Tamil, Telegu and Urdu. The EMILLE monolingual corpora contain approximately 92,799,000 words (including 2,627,000 words of transcribed spoken data for Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Punjabi and Urdu). The parallel corpus consists of 200,000 words of text in English and its accompanying translations in Hindi, Bengali, Punjabi, Gujarati and Urdu.
Online Text Collections
- Internet Archive Using the top search box will search text, audio and film. Many older books and dictionaries can be found digitized in this collection.
- Oxford Text Archive The OTA collects, catalogues, preserves and distributes high-quality digital resources for research and teaching.
- The Online Books Page Index to more than one million works in English. Mostly older materials no longer under copyright although more current items included when permission for free access has been granted.
- Humanities Text Initiative (University of Michigan) Online text collections providing open access to full-text sources in the humanities
- Project Gutenberg Over 50,000 books available for free. Has links to Gutenberg sites in other countries that also provide free online books.
