Primary Sources in BU Libraries Search
The search box on the main library webpage (use Advanced Search) is a good place to begin a search for primary sources. The library uses Library of Congress subject headings to classify the books in the collection and there are a number of Library of Congress subheadings that point to primary sources. They are:
- correspondence
- sources
- diaries
- personal narratives
- interviews
- speeches
- documents
- archives
- early works to 1800
These terms can be used in a subject search or a keyword search. Examples of subject searches would be:
- United States--History--War of 1812– Personal Narratives
- Presidents--United States--Messages
- Watergate Affair, 1972-1974-Sources
Examples of keyword searches would be:
- Civil War and diaries
- American Revolution and sources
- Lyndon Johnson and interviews
Many primary documents are reprinted in published sources such as Documents of American History, Annals of America, and Speeches of the American Presidents and these and others are available in the library.
Primary Source Databases
This portal provides links to major digital collections of maps of Asia, regions within Asia, and individual countries. Although this listing is not exhaustive, it is an excellent starting point to find maps of Asia and related to Asian history.
Historical Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for date coverage and to search that publication separately.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries. Date coverage: 1690 -1876.
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window Eyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications.
- Library of Congress web guide A Web guide developed by the Library of Congress listing and linking to various documents from the American Revolution to 1920.
- Chronicling America Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
