Newspapers
Visit our Guide to African Newspapers at Boston University
The African Studies Library has a wide range of newspapers from across the continents. They exist in a variety of formats and span many years.
Tip: Newspapers can provide a window on events or issues, but it is important to know a little bit about the newspaper. Is a political party behind it? Is it independently run? Is it a tabloid?
A Selection of Newspapers Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.)
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
Historical Newspaper Databases
- African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window This full-text, searchable collection of 19th and early 20th century African newspapers includes titles from the following countries: Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome & Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
- Cooperative Africana Materials Project (includes newspapers and government documents) The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP) is a partnership of research libraries worldwide with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). Their goal is preservation of archives and materials throughout Sub-Saharan Africa. These materials are microfilmed and increasingly scanned. They include newspapers, journals, archives, monographs, government publications, etc.
Blogs & Online magazines
The internet and social media can also be a great source for opinion, currents events, trends, and debate. Here is a small selection of blogs to get started:
- Africa is a Country It features online commentary, original writing, media criticism, videos, audio, and photography, becoming one of the leading intellectual voices in the African — particularly from the left — online media sphere.
- Ms Afropolitan FEMINISM. AFRICA. POPULAR CULTURE. SOCIAL CRITICISM.
- Brittle Paper An African Literary Blog
- OkayAfrica US-based site covering African culture, music and politics
- AFRICAN VIBES AFRICAN VIBES is a magazine which captures the pulse of the dynamic African culture, serving up a mix of celebrity, fashion, and entertainment news along with in-depth profiles of the most influential, fascinating and inspiring African personalities. We bridge the knowledge gap from a positive, inspiring, entertaining, empowering, educative and motivational perspective.
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies