For additional sources of data and statistics, see the Criminal Justice Data & Statistics research guide.
911 Good Samaritan Law Inventory (University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston)
911 Good Samaritan Laws (GSLs) extend limited legal immunity to persons reporting emergency overdoses who may themselves be in possession of controlled substances or engaging in related activities. The 911 Good Samaritan Law Inventory inductively catalogs each GSL feature across every state from ratification to June 2022. It catalogs the full breadth of protected offenses, all burdens placed on Good Samaritans, the strength of immunity, and exemptions to protection. The inventory complements existing agglomerative policy surveillance databases by mapping features inductively to reflect their heterogenous implementation across states.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health
The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) is an annual nationwide survey involving interviews with approximately 70,000 randomly selected individuals aged 12 and older.
NAHDAP: National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (ICPSR)
The mission of the National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program is to facilitate research on drug addiction and HIV infection by acquiring, enhancing, preserving, and sharing data produced by research grants, particularly those funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse. The NAHDAP collection studies include alcohol, tobacco, ENDs, marijuana and opioids, HIV, epidemiological and observational studies, prevention research, and data across the lifespan.
Trends & Statistics (National Institute on Drug Abuse)
There are a variety of sources of information NIDA uses to monitor the prevalence and trends regarding drug abuse in the United States. The resources below cover a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.
Monitoring the Future
Since 1975 the MTF survey has measured drug, alcohol, and cigarette use and related attitudes among adolescent students nationwide. Survey participants report their drug use behaviors across three time periods: lifetime, past year, and past month.
Drug Overdose Deaths, National Vital Statistics System, CDC
The National Vital Statistics System collects and shares critical information on deaths from drug overdoses, such as what substances were used and where deaths are happening in America.
National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (INAHDAP)
The mission of the National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program is to facilitate research on drug addiction and HIV infection by acquiring, enhancing, preserving, and sharing data produced by research grants, particularly those funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse. NAHDAP supports secondary data analysis through technical assistance and specialized training for data depositors and data users in the drug addiction and HIV research and policy communities.
NACJD: Drugs, Alcohol & Crime (ICPSR)
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
European School Survey Project on Alcohol and Other Drugs (ESPAD).
ESPAD is a collaborative effort of independent research teams in more than 40 European countries and the largest cross-national research project on adolescent substance use in the world.
The overall aim of the project is to repeatedly collect comparable data on substance use among 15-16 year old students in as many European countries as possible.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
A core mission by UNODC is to produce and disseminate high quality statistics on drugs, crime and criminal justice at the international level. UNODC regularly updates global statistical series on crime, criminal justice, drug trafficking and prices, drug production, and drug use.
World Drug Report 2021 (UNODC)
Consisting of five separate booklets, the World Drug Report 2021 provides an in-depth analysis of the global drug markets and paints a comprehensive picture of the measurable effects and potential impact of the COVID-19 crisis on the world drug problem.