John Singleton Copley, American. John Adams (1735-1826) , oil on canvas, 1783. H74. Harvard University Portrait Collection, Bequest of Ward Nicholas Boylston to Harvard College, 1828.
Images & Museum Collections (selected)
ARTstorARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
AskART AcademicAskART Academic is a database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, and some biographical details.
The Modern West : American landscapes, 1890-1950 by Ballew Neff; Barry Lopez (Contribution by)A fascinating and novel exploration of the transformative role played by the American West in the development of modernism in the United States Drawing extensively from various disciplines including ethnology, geography, geology, and environmental studies, this groundbreaking book addresses shifting concepts of time, history, and landscape in relation to the work of pioneering American artists during the first half of the 20th century. Paintings, watercolors, and photographs by renowned artists such as Frederic Remington, Georgia O'Keeffe, Ansel Adams, Thomas Hart Benton, Dorothea Lange, and Jackson Pollock are considered alongside American Indian ledger drawings, tempuras, and Dineh sandpaintings. Taken together, these works document the quest to create a specifically American art in the decades prior to World War II. The Modern West begins with a captivating meditation on the relationship between human culture and the physical landscape by Barry Lopez, who traveled the West in the artists' footsteps. Emily Ballew Neff then describes the evolving importance of the West for American artists working out a radically new aesthetic response to space and place, from artist-explorers on the turn-of-the-century frontier, to visionaries of a Californian arcadia, to desert luminaries who found in its stark topography a natural equivalent to abstraction. Beautifully illustrated and handsomely designed, this book is essential to anyone interested in the West and the history of modernism in American art.
Location: Mugar Folio N8214.5.U6 N44 2006
Youth and Beauty by Teresa A. Carbone (Editor); Bonnie Costello (Contribution by); Randall R. Griffey (Contribution by); Sarah M. Lowe (Contribution by); Brooklyn Museum Staff (Contribution by)Accompanying a nationally touring exhibition, this critical history of American art of the 1920s provides a fresh perspective on the strikingly original modernist imagery of the Jazz Age. Youth and Beauty is the first wide-ranging look at American art during the period following the Great War and before the onset of the Great Depression. This richly illustrated volume captures a glimpse into American life during a decade when urbanization, industrialization, and mechanization were revolutionizing the United States. With more than 200 illustrations, the book brings together an array of artists and mediums, featuring iconic and surprising works by Edward Hopper, Georgia O'Keeffe, Stuart Davis, Marsden Hartley, Aaron Douglas, Alfred Stieglitz, Isamu Noguchi, Charles Sheeler, Man Ray, Walker Evans, and others. The book is arranged by theme: figurative art, landscape, still life and poetry, regional artists, and photography. Teresa A. Carbone addresses figurative types, including portraits, heroic bodies, and erotic forms. Sarah M. Lowe explores photography of the period. Bonnie Costello considers still life in the context of the seminal lyric poetry of the 1920s, and Randall Griffey discusses the Stieglitz School and the Regionalists. Published in association with the Brooklyn Museum
Location: Mugar Stacks N6512 .Y688 2011
A Passion for American Art : selections from the Carolyn and Peter Lynch collection by Dean Lahikainen (Editor)A Passion for American Art celebrates the outstanding examples of American painting, furniture and decorative arts, and Native American art from the Carolyn and Peter Lynch collection. Peter Lynch, described in the popular press as a "financial wizard" and "stock-picker extraordinaire," is more soundly characterized as a beloved family man, devout Catholic, effective philanthropist, and passionate collector. This luxuriously illustrated book traces the couple's growth as collectors, their cultural and aesthetic affinities, and their relationships with artists and fellow collectors. Writer Jeanne Schinto offers a profile of the Lynches and a view into how the collection expresses the couple's distinctly American sensibility. Curator Dean Lahikainen shares an introduction to the collection and a series of short essays exploring how the Lynches combined diverse works in the living spaces of their homes. The catalog honors the couple's credo: a reverence for humanity, a love of history, and an appreciation for the beauty and mystery of the natural world.