Skip to Main Content
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (GEAA) deals with all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists (2 ed.)
An indispensable biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism, this dictionary offers readers a wealth of factual detail on and analysis of America’s leading artists, along with analysis of their work.
A Companion to American Art
A Companion to American Art presents 35 newly-commissioned essays by leading scholars that explore the methodology, historiography, and current state of the field of American art history.
Early American Decorative Arts, 1620-1860 : A Handbook for Interpreters
Winterthur Museum is world renowned for its decorative arts collections and its exceptional educational programs. Adapted from the training materials developed at the museum, the revised and enhanced Early American Decorative Arts, 1620-1860: A Handbook for Interpreters is an indispensable guide for anyone involved with interpretation of decorative arts collections.
"United States of America," in Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day.
American colonial women and their art : a chronological encyclopedia
In American Colonial Women and Their Art: A Chronological Encyclopedia, Mary Ellen Snodgrass follows the history of creative expression from the early 1600s to the late 1700s. Featuring appendices that list individuals by skill and by state—as well as a glossary that clarifies the parameters of genres—this volume is essential to the study of Colonial women’s art.
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
This is the first comprehensive, scholarly study of a most fascinating aspect of American history and culture. Generously illustrated with both black and white and full-color photos, this A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art, encompassing not only painting, but also sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more, including both famous and lesser-known genres.
AskART Academic This link opens in a new window
AskART Academic is a database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, and some biographical details.
Dictionary of contemporary American artists
Includes biographical data, exhibitions, special commissions, collections, and a bibliography.
An encyclopedia of women artists of the American West
This encyclopedia is a biographical dictionary of some 1,000 women artists of the American West. The product of a twenty-year, coast-to-coast research project by authors Phil Kovinick and Marian Yoshiki-Kovinick, it offers accurate, concise introductions to women painters, graphic artists, and sculptors, all of whom achieved recognition as depictors of Western subjects between the 1840s and 1980.
Encyclopedia of Arab American artists
The rich history and culture of the Arab American people is found in the passionate works of its artists. Whether they be traditional media such as painting and calligraphy, or more sophisticated media such as digital work and installation, the pieces represent the beauty of heritage, the struggles of growing up in war-torn countries, the identity conflicts of female artists in male-dominated societies, and the issues surrounding migration to a Western culture very different from one's own.
Encyclopedia of African American artists
Contains sixty-six alphabetically arranged entries that profile African-American artists of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, and briefly describes the lives and accomplishments of Ghada Amer, Norman Lewis, Hale Woodruff, and others.
Encyclopedia of Asian American artists
Seventy-five Asian American artists, from the Phillipine painter Pacita Abad to Yoko Ono, a Japanese conceptual artist and widow of John Lennon, explain how their life experiences as Asian Americans have influenced their creative expression.
Frontier Women and Their Art : A Chronological Encyclopedia
In Frontier Women and Their Art: A Chronological Encyclopedia, Mary Ellen Snodgrass explores the rich history of women’s creative expression from the beginning of the Federalist era to the end of the 19th century.
St. James guide to native North American artists
Profiling 400 prominent artists of the 20th century, each entry in this reference includes a biographical profile; lists of exhibitions, public galleries and museums; a bibliography of books and articles by and about the entrant; and presents a critical perspective on the artist's work.
The biographical directory of Native American painters
ncludes "over three thousand names ... working from 1800 to the present. Typical entries list the artist's tribal affiliation and tribal name, birth and death dates, residence, publications, exhibits, awards, and honors." Also includes "passages of human interest" and "Excerpts from professional reviews and critical essays."
WAAND (Women Artists Archives National Directory) - Rutgers University Libraries
The Women Artists Archives National Directory directs users to archival repositories in the U.S. with collections of primary source material about women visual artists active in the U.S. after 1945.
North American women artists of the twentieth century : a biographical dictionary
Biographical guide to women artists of the twentieth century highlighting their works, styles, and influences and includes painters, sculptors, and photographers.
American Artists: Signatures and Monograms, 1800-1989.
The purpose of this book is the identification of artists' signatures: some 4,500 American artists and, in addition, some 600 Canadian and Latin American artists. Necessary biographical information, such as nationality, birth and death dates, is given along with bibliographical references and auction records in the form of key letters which help direct the reader to further sources of information.