Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Invitation to Art: a history of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston by Location: Mugar Stacks N520 .M45 2009
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; a centennial history by Location: Mugar Stacks N520 .F701; Mugar Reserve Room N520 .F701
"With Éclat" the Boston Athenaeum and the origin of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston by
Winner of the Historic New England Book Prize (2013) The Boston Athenæum played a vital role in founding the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, a fact that is not widely known. This book details this important relationship, from its inception through the museum's early years when the Athenæum's continued support ensured the young institution's survival. This historic partnership was remarkable in its intensity, intimacy, and informality, yet its details have never been fully documented. Based on extensive new research, With Éclat chronicles the joint endeavor in greater detail than ever before and places it in the context of Boston's changing cultural landscape. This extraordinary story will appeal to those who know these wonderful institutions or are interested in the history of American museums.
Publication Date: 2013
Art for Boston : a decade of acquisitions under the directorship of Jan Fontein ; introduction by Seymour Slive. by Location: Mugar Stacks N520 .A54 1987
The MFA : a guide to the collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston by
As Hippocrates said, "Art is long and life is short." Through an inexhaustible variety of media, in forms as diverse and surprising as history itself, artists and craftspeople have always expressed the common needs and yearnings of humankind. From ancient works in wood, clay and precious metals to Modern painting, metalwork, sculpture and video, the varied collections of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, provide an unrivaled telling of the story of art. This new, fully updated and redesigned edition of the definitive guide to the MFA's most enduring masterpieces provides a window on works that have surprised, delighted and inspired visitors since the museum opened in 1876. Featuring more than 500 objects, from Native American ceramics to European shoes, Egyptian funerary arts and Warhol silk screens, The MFA Handbook reproduces these works in vibrant color, accompanied by brief, incisive commentaries.
Location: Mugar Stacks N520 .A71783 2009
Browse by subject for more books...
Search by keywords...
Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
Books
A Musem of One's Own Private Collecting, Public Gift by
The collection museum reflects the shift in economic power from the European aristocracy to the American entrepreneur. This title studies the Wallace Collection, the J P Morgan Library, and the Henry Clay Frick Collection.
Location: Mugar Stacks N5210 .H54 2009
The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum by
The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum is home to one of the pre-eminent collections of art in the United States, with more than 2,500 treasures ranging from Chinese bronzes to Titian's Europa.
Location: Mugar Reference X N521.I7 A84 1995
The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum: daring by design by
An in-depth study of one of Boston’s treasured cultural landmarks, the pioneering patron behind the collection, and the Pritzker Prize–winning architect who modernized the Gardner Museum’s vision. When Isabella Stewart Gardner opened her exquisitely curated collection to the public in 1903, she could hardly have imagined the more than 250,000 visitors that now annually explore the art and furnishings housed in her historic re-creation of a Venetian palace. Tasked with the first addition to the museum since its founding, Renzo Piano Building Workshop has brought Gardner’s vision into the new millennium. In addition to sumptuous images of the courtyards, gardens, and galleries of the original stone palazzo and rarely seen journal pages and photographs, this beautifully designed volume features architectural renderings and new photographs of the 70,000-square-foot wing. Essays address Gardner’s life, including her friendships with Henry James, James McNeill Whistler, and John Singer Sargent; the museum’s interaction with Renzo Piano Building Workshop; and the new building within the firm’s distinguished museum work as a whole.
Location: Mugar Stacks N521.I7 H38 2014
Book Chapters
Photographs, Museums, Collections by Publication Date: 2015Riley, Casey. "Self assembled: isabella stewart gardner’s photographic albums and the development of her museum, 1902–24*". Part I:3, pp. 47-63.
Dress history : new directions in theory and practice by Publication Date: 2018Guth, Christine M.E. "Dress, Self-Fashioning and Display at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum" Chapter 7, pp. 113-126.
Memory Commemoration and Medieval Europe by Publication Date: 2013Fozi, Shirin. "‘A Mere Patch of Color’: Isabella Stewart Gardner and the Shattered Glass of Reims". Chapter 16, pp. 321-344.
Bernard Berenson: A life in the picture trade by Publication Date: 2013"Selling and building: The Gardner Museum and the Villa I Tatti." Chapter 5, pp. 115-156.
Women's Culture : American philanthropy and art, 1830-1930 by Location: Mugar Stacks N72.F45 M34 1991"Isabella Stewart Gardner and Fenway Court," Part III: Chapter 6, pp. 149-176.
ICA (Institute of Contemporary Art) Boston
Diller, Scofidio and Renfro: Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA), Boston by
The Institute of Contemporary Art, designed by Diller + Scofidio (now Diller Scofidio + Renfro), was the first new art museum to be built in Boston in a century. Opened in December 2006, the ICA is located on a small parcel of land on Boston Harbor and this is the 25th location for the museum in its 75 year history and its first, permanent, free-standing home. "The ICA's decision to hire Diller + Scofidio reflected our belief in the firm's vision that architecture can shape as well as reflect contemporary experience," stated Jill Medvedow, director of ICA. The architects balanced use of cool and transparent glass with the warmth of wood and the energy of light, as well as their design of spare, flexible spaces for presenting contemporary art, was a revelation for a city and an architectural community. ''Their brilliant and beautiful design of the ICA was a harbinger of change: edgy, bold and breathtaking, transforming the landscape for contemporary art and culture in Boston and for the artists, art and ideas of our time," Medvedow has said. ILLUSTRATIONS Colour
Location: Mugar Stacks NA6700.B57 D55 2011
Building with Water: concepts, typology, design by
"Institute of Contemporary Art Diller Scofidio + Renfro," pp. 122-127.
Publication Date: 2010
Diller Scofidio + Renfro architecture after images by
"ICA". Chapter 3, pp. 161-169.
Publication Date: 2013
Dissent: the issue of modern art in Boston. by
Includes the so-called "Boston manifesto" -
"Modern Art" and the American Public - a statement by The Institute of Contemporary Art, formerly the Institute of Modern Art," pp. 52-53.
Location: Mugar Stacks N6487.B6 I573 1985
Book Chapter
What Was Contemporary Art? by
"Midcentury Contemporary (1948)." Chapter 4, pp. 190-257.
February 17, 1948--the Institute of Modern Art (previously, the Boston Museum of Modern Art) changed its name to the Institute of Contemporary Art.
Location: Mugar Stacks N6490 .M483 2013
