Grove Art OnlineThis link opens in a new windowGrove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
AskART AcademicThis link opens in a new windowIncludes international artists whose works are or have been at auction.
Biography (Gale in Context)This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full-text entries from a number of reference works published by Gale and St, James Press including Contemporary Artists (5th ed, 2001), Contemporary Designers (3rd ed, 1999), Contemporary Photographers (3rd ed, 1996), Contemporary Women Artists (1999), International Dictionary of Art and Artists (1990), and St. James Guide to Black Artists (1997).
Theories and documents of contemporary art : a sourcebook of artists' writingsFirst published in 1996, this irreplaceable resource has now been updated, revised, and expanded by Kristine Stiles to represent thirty countries and more than one hundred new artists. Stiles has added forty images and a diverse roster of artists, The writings, which as before take the form of artists' statements, interviews, and essays, make vivid each artist's aesthetic approach and capture the flavor and intent of his or her work.
100 contemporary artistsThis special two-volume edition compiles the 100 most exciting artists from the seminal TASCHEN title Art at the Turn of the Millenium as well as the renowned Art Now series, condensing them to a comprehensive compendium of contemporary art at the beginning of the 21st century.
Encyclopaedia of the word : artist conversations, 1968-2008What is art? What is its function? What is the importance of using colour? What is the meaning of using different materials? These are just some of the questions Achille Bonito Oliva directed to 65 of the greatest and most controversial artists of our time, such as Andy Warhol and Robert Ryman.
Artists of World War IIArtists in China: between war and civil war -- Artists in France: between collaboration and resistance -- Artists in Germany: constructing the "thousand-year Reich" -- Artists in Great Britain: creating art as propaganda during the "Blitz" -- Artists in Italy: shaping a fascist culture of consensus -- Artists in Japan: relating tradition and modernity to the art of "holy war" -- Artists in the Soviet Union: defending communist utopia -- Artists in Spain: waging a media war -- Artists in the United States: selling war and peace in the "American century."