Skip to Main Content
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
A Companion to Modern Art
A Companion to Modern Art presents a series of original essays by international and interdisciplinary authors who offer a comprehensive overview of the origins and evolution of artistic works, movements, approaches, influences, and legacies of Modern Art
A companion to impressionism
Focusing on the 1860s to 1890s, A Companion to Impressionism explores artists who are well-represented in impressionist studies, including Monet, Renoir, Degas, and Cassatt. as well as Morisot. Caillebotte. Bazille, and other significant yet lesser-known artists.
A companion to Dada and Surrealism
This excellent overview of new research on Dada and Surrealism blends expert synthesis of the latest scholarship with completely new research, offering historical coverage as well as in-depth discussion of thematic areas ranging from criminality to gender.
A companion to modern African Art
Offering a wealth of perspectives on African modern and Modernist art from the mid-nineteenth century to the present, this new Companion features essays by African, European, and North American authors who assess the work of individual artists as well as exploring broader themes such as discoveries of new technologies and globalization.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Compiled by an international team of over 140 contributors, this is the first Oxford Companion to deal with the subject of photography. It appears at a watershed in the medium's history, as digital imaging increasingly dominates the global photography scene. Providing a wide range of technical information, the Companion also presents, in a concise and readily accessible form, the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice.
A Dictionary of Modern Design
From the Arts and Crafts Movement to Postmodernism, Apple to Frank Lloyd Wright, this fascinating dictionary covers the past 160 years of international design, with accessible entries on branding, graphics, industrial design, functionalism, and fashion. New entries on digital design and sustainable design bring the coverage up to date. The dictionary’s international focus takes in major movements, key concepts, design terminology, and important design institutions, museums, and heritage sites.
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art
The Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Art illuminates important artists, styles, and movements of the past 70 years. Beginning with the immediate post-World War II period, it encompasses earlier 20th century masters, including Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Henry Moore, Alberto Giacometti, Joan Miró, Jean Dubuffet, Stuart Davis, Georgia O’Keeffe, and other well-known figures, who remained creatively productive, while also inspiring younger generations.
The Duchamp dictionary
Among the most influential artists of the last hundred years, Marcel Duchamp holds great allure for many contemporary artists worldwide and is largely considered to be one of the founding fathers of modern art.
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art (3rd ed.)
This authoritative reference work boasts worldwide coverage of modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day. It features A to Z entries on movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, schools, and galleries. A valuable resource for artists, art students, and art lovers, it gives indication of public collections and publicly sited works as well as suggestions for further reading within entries.
Artspoke : a guide to modern ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1848-1944
Arranged alphabetically by topic, this book provides the who, when, where, and what of art for topics from abstract/abstraction to The Wanderers and the World of art, including information on the first uses of specific terms and definitions of art movements and genres.
Artspeak : a guide to contemporary ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1945 to the present
ArtSpeak," a lexicon of postwar and contemporary art, defines 146 key terms, often in a who/when/where/what format. 29 entries new to this edition, dozens of others revised. 83 reproductions of representative artworks, most in color. Illustrated timeline of world and art-world events from 1945 to 2012. Index includes nationalities and life dates of the artists referenced.
PhotoSpeak : a guide to the ideas, movements, and techniques of photography, 1839 to the present
PhotoSpeak is the first reference to provide satisfying, easily accessible information not only about the diverse techniques that have been explored since photography was invented more than 150 years ago but also about the ideas and the influences that have been central to those making and interpreting photographs.
A dictionary of the avant-gardes
Twenty-five years after the publication of A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes, the distinguished critic and arts historian Richard Kostelanetz returns to his favorite subject for a third edition.
Historical dictionary of surrealism
The Historical Dictionary of Surrealism relates the history of this movement through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on persons, circles, and groups who participated in the movement; a global entry on some of the journals and reviews they produced; and a sampling of major works of art, cinema, and literature.
Tate Glossary of Art Terms
Tate's online glossary is designed to explain and illuminate some of the art terminology you will find on our website. It contains definitions, most with illustrations, of over 400 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon.
20/21c art books : a bibliography of artists and art movements in the 20th and 21st centuries
I. Artists -- II. Themes -- Art movements -- Art & exhibitions over the decades -- Countries & regions -- Methods & styles -- History, dictionary & critiques -- Museums collections & exhibition history -- III. Cover images -- IV. Author index.