Skip to main content

African Art & Architecture

https://library.bu.edu/africanartarchitecture

Bibliographies & Guides

Modern African Art: A Basic Reading List.  Janet L. Stanley. Warren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution. Compiled since 1995 and updated continuously. Includes surveys, texts, and exhibition catalogs. 
 

Africa: Getting Started with Research.  African Studies Library, Boston University.
 

Africa South of the Sahara: Art. Stanford University. An annotated directory of resources browsable by countries and by topics; also searchable.Developed by the Electronic Technology Group of the African Studies Association (USA).
 

African Art: a Bibliographic Guide.  Janet L. Stanley.  African Studies Library Reference Z5961 .A35 S7 1985.
 

Arts of Africa: an Annotated Bibliography.  Janet L. Stanley.  Annual, 1988–.  Biennial, 1986/1987. Based on the monthly acquisitions lists issued by the National Museum of African Art Branch Library, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.  LIB HAS: V.1(1986/87)-V.5(1991; ceased 1992).  African Studies Library Reference Z5961 .A35 .A78.
 

AfricaBib.org.  19th century–.  University of Arkansas, Little Rock, Institute for Economic Advancement (IEA).  Africana periodical literature in English:

Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database

African Women’s Bibliographic Database

Women Travelers, Explorers, and Missionaries to Africa (1763-2006)

 

African dress II: a Selected and Annotated Bibliography. Ila M. Pokornowski.  African Studies Library Reference Z5694 .A4 A47 1985.  (Supplement to: African dress; a select and annotated bibliography of Subsaharan countries. Joanne Bubolz Eicher.  African Studies Library Reference Z5694 .A4 E53 1969).​
 

African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources.  Hans M. Zell. 4th ed rev.  African Studies Library DT19.8 .Z45 2006.
 

Annotated Bibliography of the Visual Arts of East Africa. Eugene C. Burt.  African Studies Library Z5961 .A38 B87 1980.

 

Arts of Central Africa: an Annotated Bibliography.  Daniel P. Biebuyck, 1987. African Studies Library  Z5961 .Z28 B53 1987.

African Archaeology

African Archaeology: a Selected Bibliography. Robert B. Marks Ridinger.  African Studies Library Reference Z5118.A6 R5 1993.
 

African Diaspora Archaeology Network (“ADAN”). University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.
 

Great Zimbabwe: The Iron Age in South Central Africa: a Research Guide. Joseph Vogel. Mugar Library CC70 .C581993.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Dwyer
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies