Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks
A Companion to Modern African Art by Features essays by African, European, and North American authors who assess the work of individual artists as well as exploring broader themes such as discoveries of new technologies and globalization. A pioneering continent-based assessment of modern art and modernity across Africa.
Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience. 2nd ed. by Location: African Studies Library Reference DT14 .A37435 2005Interpretive essays on the religion, arts, and cultural life of Africans and of black people everywhere.
A Dictionary of African Mythology by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks BL2400 .S24 2000 and OnlineHere are gods and goddesses, epic heroes and divine tricksters, along with epics of the world's origins, the struggle between the human and the divine... covering the entire continent, from the mouth of the Nile to the shores of the Cape of Good Hope, including North African as well as sub-Saharan cultures.
New Encyclopedia of Africa by Location: African Studies Library Reference DT2 .N48 2008 vols. 1-5This substantial expansion and reworking of the classic Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara (1997) covers the entire continent, from the Europe-facing shores of the Mediterranean to the commercial bustle of Cape Town.
Africa. Overview article in Grove Art Online.
Art of Africa: A Resource for Educators, Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY
Africa: an Encyclopedia for Students. John Middleton, ed. African Studies Library DT3 .A249 2002 vols. 1-4.
African Ethnonyms: Index to Art-producing Peoples of Africa. Daniel P. Biebuyck. Guide to African tribal names associated with works of art. African Studies Library GN645 .B53 1996.
Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa: Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments. Joseph O. Vogel, ed. African Studies Library DT2 .E53 1997.
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World. Paul Oliver, ed. “Sub-Saharan Africa” in Vol. 3 Section VII, pp. 1969-2170. Bibliography: pp. 2311-2322. Mugar Library NA208 .E53 1997, vols. 1-3.
International Dictionary of Historic Places: Vol. 4 Middle East and Africa. Trudy Ring, ed. Mugar Library CC135 .I585 1995.
Librarian
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
New!
Sir Banister Fletcher's Global History of Architecture by
"A major monument in the writing of worldwide history" - Book of the Week, Times Higher Education 2020 Dartmouth Medal Honorable MentionSir Banister Fletcher's Global History of Architecture is the acknowledged classic reference work for architectural history. It has been essential reading for generations of architects and students since the first edition was published in 1896 - and this tradition continues today as the new 21st edition provides the most up-to-date, authoritative and detailed account of the global history of architecture available in any form.Thousands of major buildings from around the world are described and explained, accompanied by over 2,200 photographs, plans, and drawings. Architectural styles and traditions are placed within a clear framework, and the chronological and geographical arrangement of the work's 102 chapters allows for easy comparative analysis of cultural contexts, resources, and technologies. Published for the first time in full colour, and entirely rewritten throughout by over 80 leading international architectural historians, this is a landmark new edition of a classic work - one which reflects the very latest scholarship and brings a thoroughly contemporary understanding to over 5,500 years of global architectural history.
Location: Mugar Stacks NA200 .F63 2020
