Special Collections Online
- American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals, ca. 1490-1920 This collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress begins with a rare late fifteenth-century source, Les basses danses de Marguerite d’Autriche (c.1490) and ends with Ella Gardner’s 1929 Public dance halls, their regulation and place in the recreation of adolescents. The collection can be browsed by subject, author or title and searched by keyword. The majority of these materials are available to the user in their entirety.
- Ballet Russe Scenery Collection of the Butler BalletPhotographs of scenery drops from the Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo with brief historical references about each piece.
- Dance Heritage CoalitionDHC is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Its mission is to preserve, make accessible, enhance and augment the materials that document the artistic accomplishments in dance of the past, present, and future.
- Dance Notation BureauThe Dance Notation Bureau (DNB) notates and documents dance through a symbol system called Labanotation. Their web site explains notation basics, offers correspondence courses in Labanotation, suggests reading, and links to the DNB Library and their Notated Theatrical Dances Catalog.
- Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public LibraryThe largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance. Chronicling the art of dance in all its manifestations—ballet, ethnic, modern, social, and folk—the division is much more than a library in the usual sense of the word. Includes digital collections and oral histories.
- Siobhan Davies ArchiveBrings together all of the materials and documentation associated with Siobhan Davies' choreographies into a single collection. It is the first online dance archive in the UK and contains thousands of fully searchable digital records including moving image, still image, audio and text.
Health Resources
- American Dance Therapy AssociationThe only U.S. organization dedicated to the profession of dance/movement therapy.
- International Association for Dance Medicine & ScienceIADMS enhances the health, well-being, training, and performance of dancers by cultivating educational, medical, and scientific excellence.
- Laban/Bartenieff Institute of Movement Studies, LIMSFocues on movement analysis, applicable not only to dance but also health care, the performing arts, sports, education, diplomacy, leadership studies, and communications.
Professional Associations and Dance Companies
- BalletCompanies.comMore than 3000 links to ballet and dance companies all over the world. They also provide individual dance and ballet companies with space for audition announcement and other news.
- Congress on Research in Dance (CORD)Provides opportunities for dance professionals from a broad range of specialties to exchange ideas, resources, and methodologies through publication, international and regional conferences, and workshops.
- National Dance Education OrganizationNDEO provides professional development, networking forums, honor societies, journals, research and advocacy tools for teachers, administrators and students in the field of dance arts education. Members teach multiple dance genres in a variety of environments including, but not limited to, K-12 schools, dance studios, colleges and community centers.
- Society of Dance History ScholarsAdvances the field of dance studies through research, publication, performance, and outreach to audiences across the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
