Reference Books
- Biographical Dictionary of Dance byLocation: Music Library Reference GV1785.A1 C58 1982ISBN: 9780028702605Publication Date: 1982Profiles more than 2,900 performers, choreographers, composers, designers, impresarios, theorists, and teachers ... in Europe and in the Americas.
International Dictionary of Ballet by Location: Music Library Reference GV1585 .I57 1993ISBN: 9781558620841Publication Date: 1993The International Dictionary of Ballet has as its subject all of ballet, from its beginnings in the Renaissance to contemporary dance.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Location: Music Library Reference GV1585 .I58 1998ISBN: 9781558623590Publication Date: 1998Offering an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of modern dance, this reference offers alphabetically arranged essays, selected, written and reviewed by expert contributors.
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Location: Music Library Reference GV1585 .I586 1998ISBN: 019509462XPublication Date: 1998Oxford presents the first reference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history. In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set is alphabetically arranged, with an index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by ISBN: 9780199563449Publication Date: 2010Covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
Suggested Subject Headings
Getting Books Not Available at BU
There are several ways you can obtain books or articles that we do not own. These include:
-
WorldCat Discovery. WorldCat Discovery allows current BU faculty, staff, and students to borrow books directly from other Boston Library Consortium libraries. Turnaround time is approximately three working days. (How to use WorldCat Discovery)
-
Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan services allow current BU faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that our ILL staff will obtain from other libraries. Books generally take 1-3 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 1-2 days.
-
ILL online request forms for all patrons except those affiliated with the Schools of Law and Medicine
-
Law Library's interlibrary loan page for Law School affiliates
-
Alumni Medical Library’s ILL form for Medical School affilliates
-
For general inquires to the Interlibrary Loan office, please call (617) 353-3706 or email ILLMML@bu.edu.
-
- BLC Cards. A Boston Library Consortium Card allows the bearer to borrow—in person—circulating material from a member library, just as you would from a BU library. Boston University faculty, staff, and students on the Charles River Campus may obtain a Consortium Card by filling out an application form. Medical Campus affiliates apply at the Alumni Medical Library.
