Related Guide
Journal Article Databases
Searching Across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, business, literature, and other subjects.
Art & Architecture
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes American state and regional periodicals, professional association publications, and the major journals on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Subject areas are architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Includes obituary citations.
- BHA & RILA (Bibliography of the History of Art and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art) This link opens in a new window
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and RILA (Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art) index and abstract art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs and periodical articles in many languages with an emphasis on European art from the medieval through modern periods.
- AATA Online Abstracts Of International Conservation Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides over 100,000 peer-reviewed abstracts of the international literature of conservation and heritage management in a free online database. Date coverage: 1932 - present.
Humanities & Social Sciences
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes journal articless, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
An index to works, primarily in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and books.
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Accessed via Web of Science, this database provides comprehensive data on bibliographic & citation information. Researchers can identify which later articles have cited any particular earlier article, or have cited the articles of any particular author, or have been cited most frequently. Searches notable and significant journals across more than 25 disciplines.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus provides worldwide access for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields.
Featured Journals
- Journal of Islamic Archaeology The Journal of Islamic Archaeology is the only journal today devoted to the field of Islamic archaeology on a global scale.
- Muqarnas = Muqarnas Muqarnas is the first academic journal devoted to art, architectural history, archaeology, as well as all aspects of Islamic visual and material cultures, historical and contemporary.
- Ars Islamica Former title of Ars Orientalis
- Kunst des Orient Ceased in 1978
- Journal of Islamic Studies The Journal of Islamic Studies is a multi-disciplinary publication dedicated to the scholarly study of all aspects of Islam and of the Islamic world. Particular attention is paid to works dealing with history, geography, political science, economics, anthropology, sociology, law, literature, religion, philosophy, international relations, environmental and developmental issues, as well as ethical questions related to scientific research.
- Ars Orientalis Cosponsored by the Department of the History of Art, University of Michigan, and the Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution, Ars Orientalis is a peer-reviewed annual volume of scholarly articles and book reviews on the art and archaeology of Asia, including the ancient Near East and the Islamic world.
Newspaper Databases
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
- New York Times (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text of the New York Times back issues. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2021, please use Nexis Uni. For access to nytimes.com, see New York Times (website access).
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- Times Digital Archive (London, 1785 - 2019) This link opens in a new window An online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in The Times (London) to 2019. Full page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text. NOTE: For 2019+ use Nexis Uni.
