Skip to main content

Islamic Art & Architecture

https://library.bu.edu/islamicart

Image Collections

Islamic Art Collections. An International Survey. Karin Adahl and Mikael Ahlund (eds.).  Mugar Reference X N6260 2000.

Abdul-Hamid II Collection. Prints and Photographs Online, Library of Congress. “Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II. The 1,819 photographs in 51 large-format albums date from about 1880 to 1893.”

Arabic Calligraphy Islamic Arts and Architecture.

Archnet Archives & Image collectionsAga Khan Documentation Center, MIT.

Arts of the Islamic World.  Smithsonian: Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery.

Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in Spain.  University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Chester Beatty Library (Dublin): Islamic Collections.  Mughal miniatures.

Courtauld Institute of Art, Islamic Art and Architecture.  Use Quicksearch to find images.

Creswell Archive: the Creswell Photographic Archive.  Ashmolean Museum.  Architecture of the Islamic world from Spain to Iraq, 7th-18th centuries.

Exhibition of photographs from the Creswell Collection in the Rare Books and Special Collections Library of the American University in Cairo and the Islamic Art Network (IAN) Photo Archive.

Islamic Art: Art History Resources on the Web. Christopher Witcombe, Sweet Briar College, VA.

Islamic Art.  Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.

Islamic Art.  Harvard Art Museums.

Islamic Art Collection.  Metropolitan Museum of Art (NY).

Islamic Art at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

Islamic Ceramic Museum.  Palace of Prince Amru Ibrahim, Gezira, Zamalek, Egypt.

Islamic Heritage Project.  Harvard University.  Manuscripts, maps, texts.

Middle East Photograph Archive.  University of Chicago Library.

Museum With No Frontiers: Islamic Art.  European Union.

National Museum of Asian Art.  Smithsonian, Washington, DC

New Department of Islamic Art, Musee du Louvre.

Symbols & Iconography

Iconography of Islamic Art: Studies in Honour of Robert Hillenbrand.  Bernard O’Kane (ed.). Mugar Library N6260 .I32 2005.

Image and Meaning in Islamic Art. Robert Hillenbrand (ed.).  Mugar Library N6260 .I43 2005.

Islamic architecture : form, function, and meaning.  Robert Hillenbrand.  Mugar Library NA380 .H52 1994.

“Symbols and Signs in Islamic Architecture.”  Oleg Grabar.  In Architecture as Symbol and Self-Identity, Jonathan G. Katz (ed.). Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center Closed Stacks (Frye 115).

Librarian