For additional sources of crime data and statistics, see the Criminal Justice Data & Statistics research guide.
Development and Validation of a Coercive Control Measure for Intimate Partner Violence in Boston, Massachusetts and Washington, DC, 2004 (ICPSR 4570)
The overall goals of this project were to develop a clear theoretical understanding of coercive control and to develop a measure of "nonviolent coercive control" for use in the measurement of intimate partner violence (IPV).
Stages of Change and the Group Treatment of Batterers in Montgomery County, Maryland, 2003-2006 (ICPSR 22170)
he goal of this project was to compare the effectiveness of a 26-week stages of change (SOC) group treatment approach with a standard Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy Gender-Reeducation (CBTGR) group treatment approach; to assess potential mediators of change; to conduct analyses on individual readiness to change as a moderator of treatment condition in predicting outcomes; to conduct exploratory analyses comparing the effectiveness of these 2 approaches in Spanish-speaking groups; and to assess the integrity of the 2 treatments with respect to therapist adherence.
Risk Factors for Male-Perpetrated Domestic Violence in Vietnam Veteran Families in the United States, 1988 (ICPSR 3086)
The goal of this project was to gain a better understanding of risk factors associated with male-perpetrated domestic violence, partner's mental distress, and child behavior problems.
Boston Police Department Domestic Violence Research Project, 1993-1994 (ICPSR 6483)
The Domestic Violence Research Project was a pilot study designed to examine the dynamics of domestic violence within two of the ten police districts that comprise the city of Boston. The objectives were to collect data on domestic violence in greater detail than previously possible, conduct various analyses on this information, and determine how the findings could best be used to improve the police, prosecutorial, and social service responses to domestic violence
National Portrait of Domestic Violence Courts (ICPSR 27282)
The study was designed to create a portrait of domestic violence courts across America, specifically courtroom policies, procedures and goals were examined as described by court employees and prosecutors that work with the domestic violence courts. Geographic information on 338 courts was collected and organized in a national compendium of domestic violence courts
Analysis of Rhode Island Domestic Violence Offenders on Probation, 1977-2012 (ICPSR 34571)
The purpose of the study was to:
Describe the prosecution and sentencing histories for domestic violence and other offenses;
Determine the severity gap in prosecution and sentencing between these domestic violence and non-domestic violence over a six year period; and
To answer whether the variation in prosecution and sentencing severity predicts being subsequently charged for domestic violence in the future.
Post-Incarceration Partner Violence: Examining the Social Context of Victimization to Inform Victim Services and Prevention, 5 U.S. States, 2008-2015 (ICPSR 37327)
Do post-incarceration partner violence experiences in justice-involved couples conform to the most widely used evidence based typology of partner violence in the general population (Johnson, 2008)? What aspects of social context at the individual, couple/family, and community levels shape post-incarceration partner violence experiences? Do couple/family-level social context factors mediate the observed relationship between the identified community-level influences and experiences of partner
Gender Roles and Intimate Partner Violence - Spring 2019 (OpenICPSR)
Online questionnaire study of 384 male and female college undergraduates on gender roles and psychological maladjustment.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
Sunlight Foundation Hall of Justice
Hall of Justice is a Sunlight Foundation Project working with criminal justice data. The project is no longer maintained, but you can find the archived underlying data set here.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics.
Crime in the United States
An annual publication for more than eight decades, this report contains a compilation of the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state. Individual law enforcement agency data are also provided for those contributors supplying 12 months complete offense data. In addition, this report also includes arrest, clearance, trends, and law enforcement employee data. Also available to use with Crime in the United States is the online UCR Data Tool to research crime statistics for the nation, by state, and by individual law enforcement agency.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (University of Albany)
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States presented in over 600 tables from more than 100 sources. Selected data to 2013.
Global Database on Violence Against Women (UN)
In December 2006, the General Assembly of the United Nations adopted a comprehensive resolution calling for intensification of efforts to eliminate all forms of violence against women and requesting the Secretary-General to establish a coordinated database on the extent, nature and consequences of all forms of violence against women, and on the impact and effectiveness of policies and programmes for eliminating such violence. The database was developed and launched in 2009, and was called the
WHO Global Database on Prevalence of Violence against Women
A comprehensive database on the prevalence of the two most common forms of violence against women globally: Intimate partner violence and sexual violence by someone other than a partner, referred to as non-partner sexual violence. This interactive data visualization platform presents the first global, regional and country/area estimates on intimate partner violence and global and regional estimates on non-partner sexual violence in the United Nations Sustainable Goals era (2015-2030).