Skip to Main Content
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
This online edition of the Encyclopedia of Social Work includes over 700 articles on all aspects of social work and is updated monthly. It also includes biographies of major figures in the field of social work.
Macmillan encyclopedia of families, marriages, and intimate relationships
Covers such diverse topics as cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, online dating, gender socialization, codependency, same-sex marriages, resilience, commuter marriages, and the history of family life within various cultures.
Color Atlas of Domestic Violence
The Color Atlas of Domestic Violence is the first text to look specifically and comprehensively at the injuries frequently seen as a result of domestic violence. This atlas provides a visual aid for the examination, identification, and documentation of domestic injuries. It includes extensive visual content, as well as content on the cycles of violence and epidemiology of domestic violence. Specific injury types and patterns are both discussed and presented pictorially.
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Medicine
This encyclopedia advances the understanding of behavioral medicine principles and clinical applications among researchers and practitioners in medicine, psychology, public health, epidemiology, nursing, and social work. In addition, the encyclopedia provides useful synergies for sociologists, anthropologists, and undergraduates with some interest in the interface of human health and behavior.
Handbook on Effective Police Responses to Violence against Women
Violence against women is a global issue of pandemic proportions, which has an impact on all societies. This Handbook is designed to assist and guide police officers in the prevention of, and response to, violence against women. It familiarizes them with relevant international laws, norms and standards relating to violence against women and informing them about some promising practical approaches to effective police response to act of the violence.
The Wiley Handbook of What Works in Child Maltreatment : An Evidence-Based Approach to Assessment and Intervention in Child Protection
A comprehensive guide to empirically supported approaches for child protection cases The Wiley Handbook of What Works in Child Maltreatment offers clinicians, psychologists, psychiatrists and other professionals an evidence-based approach to best professional practice when working in the area of child protection proceedings and the provision of assessment and intervention services in order to maximize the well-being of young people.
Childhood Sexual Abuse : a Reference Handbook
Childhood Sexual Abuse: A Reference Handbook explores the many ways we define child sexual abuse in the United States and in different parts of the world and how those differences are represented in U.S. and international laws. It summarizes what we know about how to intervene, treat, and prevent childhood sexual abuse effectively and tells the stories of individuals who have had a dramatic effect on the handling of childhood sexual abuse. For students, social workers, teachers, policymakers, parents, and concerned citizens, this work offers a one-stop, multifaceted discussion of one of the major issues facing children and their families.
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice
Contemporary scholars have begun to explore non-normative sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in a growing victimization literature, but very little research is focused on LGBTQ communities’ patterns of offending (beyond sex work) and their experiences with police, the courts, and correctional institutions. This Handbook, the first of its kind in Criminology and Criminal Justice, will breaks new ground by presenting a thorough treatment of all of these under-explored issues in one interdisciplinary volume that features current empirical work.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
The Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence. The primary goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. The work provides essays on cutting-edge research as well as concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.