Find News in isiXhosa
- I'solezweWebsite of I'solezwe, an isiXhosa newspaper published in South Africa.
- I'solezwe (via PressReader)Read I'solezwe as it appears in print. The most current 3 months are available. No back issues.
Historical Newspapers
*Please be aware that many historical sources use terms now considered outdated or offensive.*
- African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window This full-text, searchable collection of 19th and early 20th century African newspapers includes titles from the following countries: Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome & Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Date coverage: 1831 to 1923.
IsiXhosa publications available through the World Newspaper Archive include:
- Indaba (Lovedale, South Africa) "Ukuti umpelumlo uswele ukwazi akulungile." Text chiefly in Xhosa, some in English.Publication Date: 1862 -1865
- Imvo Zabantsundu King William's Town, South Africa In Xhosa and English. Includes: Imvo zabantsundu bomzanti Afrika, Imvo zonsundu, neliso lomziPublication Date: 1884-1922
- South African Outlook Lovedale, South Africa Languages: English, Xhosa Includes: Christian Express, Kaffir Express/Isigidimi Sama-xosaLocation: Online:1870-1922, Print: 1975-1996 (inc)
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies