Spoken Word Sources at and via BU
BU Libraries Search covers all our physical audio collections and most of the contents of online sources, subscription or open access. Refine results to audio/video. Our physical collection on CD, tape, and phonodisc (primarily LPs) and includes speeches, poetry recitation, plays and language pronunciation instruction.
For additional results and more refined searching, go directly to our streaming audio subscription databases.
- Music & Performing Arts (Audio & Video Collections) This link opens in a new window Music & Performing Arts' collections include American Music, Classical, Contemporary World, Jazz, Popular, Smithsonian's Global Sound, Ethnographic Sound Archives, American Film Scripts, Asian American Drama, Black Drama, North American Drama, and Theatre in Context. Search results include links to the full text of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (1997-2001), with additional audio examples.
Spoken Word Sources via Boston Public Library
Boston Public Library provides free eCards and library cards to all Massachusetts residents and college students. Once obtained, you can access their free subscription audio sources. These collections include audiobooks that can be streamed or downloaded.
Open Access Spoken Word Sources
- American RhetoricProvides thousands of speeches in video, audio and transcript format to understand argumentation and presentation regarding public speaking.
- Library of Congress: Performing Arts Digital Audio CollectionsFree and open access to sound recordings focused on but not limited to American folk music, including from specific ethnic groups. Other collections include Gerry Mulligan, John Philip Sousa, Danny Kaye and Sylvia Fine, and recent concerts at the Library of Congress.
- Open Vault from WGBHOnline access to unique and historically important content produced by Boston public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
