Video Sources at and via BU
BU Libraries Search covers all our physical video collections and most of the contents of online sources, subscription or open access. Refine results to audio/video. The Music Library's physical collection includes operas, concerts and music documentaries. BU Libraries Search also covers videos in the general Krasker Film/Video collection and most streaming videos to which we have access.
For additional results and more refined searching, go directly to our streaming audio subscription databases.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Music & Performing Arts (Audio & Video Collections) This link opens in a new window Music & Performing Arts' collections include American Music, Classical, Contemporary World, Jazz, Popular, Smithsonian's Global Sound, Ethnographic Sound Archives, American Film Scripts, Asian American Drama, Black Drama, North American Drama, and Theatre in Context. Search results include links to the full text of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (1997-2001), with additional audio examples.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Swank This link opens in a new window Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels.
- BUniverseVideos created for BUToday as well as lectures and other BU-related video created by faculty, students, staff and alumni. Open access.
Video Sources via Boston Public Library
Boston Public Library provides free eCards and library cards to all Massachusetts residents and college students. Once obtained, you can access their free subscription video sources:
Offers a broad selection of streaming and downloadable media, including current popular hit music. Most titles can also be downloaded to your phone or tablet. Free with a Boston Public Library eCard or library card, available to all Massachusetts residents and college students.
Open Access Video Sources
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingProject to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years. A source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity.
- EuropeanaResources from European archives, broadcasters, museums, universities, research institutes and private collectors. Results can be limited to video.
- Internet Archive: Moving Image ArchiveMore than 2.5 million videos including public domain feature films, television and news service videos
- Open Vault from WGBHOnline access to unique and historically important content produced by Boston public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
