Introduction - Archival Newspapers
The African Studies Library's archival newspaper collection consists of various formats: print, microfilm and electronic. Please note that our coverage varies greatly according to country and decade.
Please refer to the menu on the left for microfilm and print formats.
Historical Newspapers Online
- African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window This full-text, searchable collection of 19th and early 20th century African newspapers includes titles from the following countries: Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome & Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
- Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window Contains periodicals including: * New Age, "a leftist newspaper produced in Cape Town, was founded in 1954 by trade unionists and intellectuals with links to the leadership of the African Nationalist Congress". * A set of periodicals on the theme 'Southern Africa's Struggle for Democracy: Anti-Apartheid Periodicals, 1960-1994' *SALDRU Clippings Collection: 1975-2000: A collection built up by the Southern Africa Labour & Development Research Unit (SALDRU) in the School of Economics at the University of Cape Town covers what is probably the most crucial quarter century in South Africa's history. *News magazines such as: Tempo (Mozambique), Southern Africa News (Zimbabwe), and Zimbabwe News
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window Contains various African newspapers. Coverage varies according to title, but is generally from 2009 to present.
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies