Research: Cited References: How Do I Find Who Cited an Article or Book?: Other Article & Book Databases

Other Article & Book Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides access to academic literature from many disciplines. The sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions and come from diverse places including academic publishers, online repositories and other websites.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Hein Online is a PDF collection of primary and secondary legal materials including: law reviews, law journals, and bar journals; treatises; federal statutes and legislative materials; federal regulations and executive materials; Supreme Court cases; selected state materials; titles from the American Law Institute and National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws; and a growing collection of international legal materials including United Nations publications and treaties.

Choose Law Journal Library
Enter author’s name, last name first, and title of article if looking for citations to a particular article
Click the Cited By link on the right side of the page.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore Digital Library includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, IEEE conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings and the IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library including titles from 1974-2015.

Choose Author Search if looking for citations to a particular author and enter first and last name
List of articles by the author will appear with a link to citing articles for each article
One can also choose Citation Search under Advanced Search or Other Search Options for a more specific search

MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) This link opens in a new window MathSciNet is a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for the mathematical sciences. Reviews are classified and searchable according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Continues the publication Mathematical Reviews, first published in 1940. Reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of current literature. Date coverage: Full text 1940 - present with bibliographic data and some full text for articles back to the early 1800s.

Click Citations button at top of the page
Use buttons at top of page to search by author, journal, subject, year, or top 10 lists
If searching by author, enter author’s last name and first initial of first name. Be sure to put a comma between the last name and the initial
The publications list will show the number of citations for each publication in descending order
Click into the number at the beginning of each citation to see the full citation and abstract
Citations will appear in a box on the right side of the page

PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Date Coverage: 1809 (selectively) - present.

Enter author’s name
Click specific title in result list
An abstract will appear. Below the abstract is a list of Cited By # PubMed Central Articles, including links.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released). Date coverage: varies by publication.

Contact:

ask@bu.edu