Related Guides
Background Sources
- The Palgrave international handbook of youth imprisonment This handbook brings together the knowledge on juvenile imprisonment to develop a global, synthesized view of the impact of imprisonment on children and young people.
- The Handbook of Juvenile Delinquency and Juvenile Justice This handbook is an up-to-date examination of advances in the fields of juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice that includes interdisciplinary perspectives from leading scholars and practitioners. Examines advances in the fields of juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice with interdisciplinary perspectives from leading scholars and practitioners.
- Routledge International Handbook of Delinquency and Health (online) The Routledge International Handbook of Delinquency and Health presents state-of-the-art research and theorizing on the intersections between health, delinquency, and the juvenile justice system.
- Encyclopedia of Gangs This encyclopedia seeks to illuminate the world of gangs, including gang formations, routine gang activities, aberrations and current developments. One hundred essay entries related to gangs in the United States and worldwide provide a diffuse overview of the gang phenomenon. Each entry defines and explains the term, provides an historical overview, and explains its significance today.
- International Handbook of Juvenile Justice This comprehensive reference work presents an in-depth analysis of juvenile justice systems across the world. The second edition of this Handbook has been updated with 13 new chapters, now covering a total of 34 countries, across North and South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Middle East from an international and comparative perspective.
- Gangs: a Reference Handbook Gangs: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition offers an eye-opening look at modern gangs—their history, their ability to attract members from a widening social pool, as well as efforts by community and political leaders to stop gang-related crime and weaken the grip that gangs have on our culture.
- Juvenile Justice : a Reference Handbook Juvenile Justice: A Reference Handbook puts juvenile justice under the microscope, surveying its long history and key issues, exploring the myriad of problems and controversies tied to the juvenile justice system, and explains how policymakers and legal professionals have tried to solve these vexing issues.
- APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice The APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice consolidates and advances knowledge about the legal, scientific, and applied foundations of the juvenile justice system.
- Handbook of Children, Culture, and Violence The Handbook of Children, Culture, and Violence provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary examination of childhood violence that considers children as both consumers and perpetrators of violence, as well as victims of it. This Handbook is the first single volume to consider situations when children are responsible for violence, rather than focusing exclusively on occasions when they are victimized.
- A Dictionary of Gangs This new dictionary gives a concise overview of key words used in the study and understanding of gangs. Broad in scope, it covers colloquialisms used in gang culture and sociological and criminological terms in relation to gangs, including social disorganization and social learning, as well as general academic concepts which apply to gangs, such as Critical Race Theory, acculturation, moral panic, and identity.
- Family criminology : an introduction Offers a conceptual approach to understanding the intersections of crime, criminal justice and family life. In doing so, it proposes a brand new sub-discipline of Criminology that places the family at the heart of its analysis, offering a groundbreaking approach to the study of crime and deviance. Adopting an interdisciplinary perspective, this introductory text explores topics from across the spectrum of criminological scholarship, including youth justice, prisons, organized crime, family violence and homicide, and victimology.
- Handbook of Children and Prejudice : Integrating Research, Practice, and Policy This handbook examines the effects and influences on child and youth development of prejudice, discrimination, and inequity as well as other critical contexts, including implicit bias, explicit racism, post immigration processes, social policies, parenting and media influences. It traces the impact of bias and discrimination on children, from infancy through emerging adulthood with implications for later years. The handbook explores ways in which the expanding social, economic, and racial inequities in society are linked to increases in negative outcomes for children through exposure to adverse childhood experiences (ACEs).
Historic Cases in Youth Justice
- Historic Cases in Youth Justice (OJJDP) OJJDP details milestones in juvenile justice reform—from the establishment of the first juvenile court in the United States—to landmark court cases throughout history.
Years Juvenile Courts Were Established by State
- Years Juvenile Courts Established by State (OJJDP) This map is a data visualization that displays the establishment of juvenile courts by year for each state. Hover over each state for more information about when each juvenile court was founded.
