Featured Reference Book
- Keywords in Policing The police service has developed its own language that may be confusing to those new to its ranks, such as Police Officers, Community Support Officers, Special Constables, Crime Scene Investigators or Intelligence Analysts. This book is an invaluable reference, providing short, easy to read definitions of the most significant keywords and abbreviations used within contemporary policing and law enforcement.
Related Guides
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. The work provides essays on cutting-edge research as well as concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.
- The Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Criminology and Criminal Justice This Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Criminology and Criminal Justice offers a comprehensive survey of research methodologies and statistical techniques that are popular in criminology and criminal justice systems across the globe. With contributions from leading scholars and practitioners in the field, it offers a clear insight into the techniques that are currently in use to answer the pressing questions in criminology and criminal justice.
- American prisons and jails : an encyclopedia of controversies and trends This encyclopedia provides a rigorous and comprehensive summary of correctional systems and practices and their evolution throughout US history. Topics include sentencing norms and contemporary developments; differences between local jails and prisons and regional, state, and federal systems; violent and nonviolent inmate populations; operations of state and federal prisons, including well-known prisons such as ADX-Florence, Alcatrez, Attica, Leavenworth, and San Quentin; privately run, for-profit prisons as well as the companies that run them; inmate culture, including prisoner-generated social hierarchies, prisoner slang, gangs, drug use, and violence; prison trends and statistics, including racial, ethnic, age, gender, and educational breakdowns; the death penalty; and post-incarceration outcomes, including recidivism
- Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
- The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An Encylopedia This work surveys the history and philosophy of crime, punishment, and criminal justice institutions in America from colonial times to the present. It covers the whole of the criminal justice system, from crimes, law enforcement and policing, to courts, corrections and human services.
- African Americans and Criminal Justice : An Encyclopedia Providing coverage of law and criminal justice practices from the precolonial period, including the introduction of African slaves, up to practices in modern-day America, this encyclopedia presents a frank and comprehensive view of how Americans of African descent have come to be viewed as synonymous with criminality. This book represents an essential learning resource for all American citizens, regardless of race or age.
- Latinos and Criminal Justice : an Encyclopedia Latinos and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia promotes understanding of Latinas and Latinos and the U.S. criminal justice system, at the same time dispelling popular misconceptions about this population and criminal activity in the United States.
- The Gun Debate: an Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights in the United States With public debate of gun violence at an all-time high, this book combines history with current events. At issue are fundamental questions of constitutional law and the rights of individuals, opportunities for self-protection, and the control of violence and national security. Contains over three hundred entries, covering topics such as gun laws and legislation, mass shootings and gun incidents, and information from both groups who support gun rights and those who advocate for stricter gun control.
- The Criminal Justice System, 2nd edition. Details the commission and frequency of crimes through the investigation, apprehension, prosecution, and punishment of wrongdoers.
- The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Volume 19, Violence This volume enriches our understanding of the culture of violence and its impact on ideas about law and crime, about historical tradition and social change, and about race and gender--not only in the South but in the nation as a whole.
- Abuse : an Encyclopedia of Causes, Consequences, and Treatments Through up-to-date entries by expert contributors, readers will learn about the causes and results of specific types of abuse, as well as their legal and sociological dimensions.
- Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention The Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention brings together in one authoritative resource the dispersed information and knowledge on both victimology and crime prevention. With nearly 375 entries, this two-volume set moves victimology and crime prevention one step further into recognized scholarly fields whose research informs practice and whose practice informs research.
- The Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime A comprehensive overview of organized crime from a global perspective features more than 450 entries that examine the world's most notorious crime syndicates, discussing the origins and history, practices, and role in the global underworld of such criminal organizations as the Yakuza, the Triads, the Jamaican Posse, the South American drug cartels, the Russian Mafia, and others.
- Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement This three-volume Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement provides a comprehensive, critical, and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. This work is a unique reference source that provides readers with informed discussions on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework. The volumes treat subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing. Many of the themes and issues of policing cut across disciplinary borders, however, and several entries provide comparative information that places the subject in context.
- Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence The Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence. The primary goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon.
- Encyclopedia of White-Collar Crime This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the history and current state of major corporate and other forms of white-collar crime. After an essay on the historiography of white-collar crime, roughly 200 alphabetically arranged entries (written by leading scholars in the field) provide an in-depth look into the various aspects of white-collar crime, describing people, laws, companies, types of crimes, and events.
- Prisons and Prison Systems : a Global Encyclopedia This comprehensive encyclopedia provides a historical overview of institutions and systems around the world, as well as penal theories, prisoner culture and life, and notable prisoners and personnel.
- Encyclopedia of Prisons & Correctional Facilities The Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities aims to provide a critical overview of penal institutions within a historical and contemporary framework. Issues of race, gender, and class are fully integrated throughout in order to demonstrate the complexity of the implementation and intended results of incarceration. The Encyclopedia contains biographies, articles describing important legal statutes, and detailed and authoritative descriptions of the major prisons in the United States.
- Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence Content illuminates all aspects of this serious issue, including the forms of trauma experienced by survivors/victims; different types of rape, from incest to acquaintance rape to prison rape; specific cases, events, and controversies; laws, policies, movements, and organizations pertaining to the issue; and legal, political, and cultural contributors to rape and other forms of sexual violence.
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Criminology This dictionary is not limited to criminological or sociological concepts alone. Just like any academic discipline, it covers other areas of social studies such as law, economics and politics. The dictionary covers some areas that, to the average reader, are least related to law and crime; but to the specialist, even the least likely entry, like race, tribe and democracy is, in some remote way, linked to the incidence of crime, delinquency or deviance.
- The Sage Dictionary of Criminology. 2001. The Sage Dictionary of Criminology is informed by the principle that criminology is a contested, contradictory and interdisciplinary discourse marked by constant incursion, interactions, translations, deviations and transgressions. It is this diversity that makes the study of crime and criminal justice both complex and challenging.
- A Dictionary of Gangs This new dictionary gives a concise overview of key words used in the study and understanding of gangs. Broad in scope, it covers colloquialisms used in gang culture and sociological and criminological terms in relation to gangs, including social disorganization and social learning, as well as general academic concepts which apply to gangs, such as Critical Race Theory, acculturation, moral panic, and identity.
- A Dictionary of Criminal Justice A Dictionary of Criminal Justice is the only dictionary that deals with criminal justice from a UK perspective, and in doing so provides a comprehensive guide to all aspects of the British criminal justice system, including its historical context and contemporary operations.
Handbooks
- Handbook of issues in criminal justice reform in the United States This handbook provides a holistic and comprehensive examination of issues related to criminal justice reform in the United States from a multidisciplinary perspective. Divided into five key domains of reform in the criminal justice system, it analyzes: - Policing - Policy and sentencing - Reentry - Treatment - Alternatives to incarceration.
- Research handbook on transnational crime This Research Handbook on Transnational Crime is an interdisciplinary, up-to-date guide to this growing field, written by an international cohort of leading scholars and experts. The multifaceted nature of the problem is reflected in the structure of this innovative Research Handbook, covering all the major areas of transnational crime, including terrorism, money laundering, environmental crime, migration-related crime, human trafficking, drug trafficking, cybercrime and heritage crime
- The Routledge Handbook of the Philosophy and Science of Punishment Philosophers, legal scholars, criminologists, psychiatrists, and psychologists have long asked important questions about punishment: What is its purpose? What theories help us better understand its nature? Is punishment just? Are there effective alternatives to punishment?
- The Handbook of Race, Ethnicity, Crime, and Justice This Handbook presents current and future studies on the changing dynamics of the role of immigrants and the impact of immigration, across the United States and industrialized and developing nations. It covers the changing dynamics of race, ethnicity, and immigration, and discusses how it all contributes to variations in crime, policing, and the overall justice system.
- The Handbook of the History and Philosophy of Criminology The Wiley Handbook of the History and Philosophy of Criminology provides students, scholars, and criminologists with a truly a global perspective on the theory and practice of criminology throughout the centuries and around the world. In addition to chapters devoted to the key ideas, thinkers, and moments in the intellectual and philosophical history of criminology, it features in-depth coverage of the organizational structure of criminology as an academic discipline world-wide.
- The Handbook of Measurement Issues in Criminology and Criminal Justice This volume of the series was designed to provide a comprehensive primer on the existing best practices and emerging developments in the study and design research on crime and criminology. The work as a whole includes chapters on the measurement of criminal typologies, the offenders, offending and victimization, criminal justice organizations, and specialized measurement techniques.
- The Handbook of Criminological Theory An indispensable resource for all levels, this handbook provides up-to-date, in-depth summaries of the most important theories in criminology. Provides original, cutting-edge, and in-depth summaries of the most important theories in criminology.
- Research Handbook of Comparative Criminal Justice With contributions from leading experts in the field, this timely Research Handbook reconsiders the theories, assumptions, values and methods of comparative criminal justice in light of the challenges and opportunities posed by globalisation, deglobalisation and transnationalisation.
- The Handbook of Homicide The Handbook of Homicide presents a series of original essays by renowned authors from around the world, reflecting the latest scholarship on the nature, causes, and patterns of homicide, as well as policies and practices for its investigation and prevention. Includes comprehensive coverage of the complex phenomenon of homicide and its various forms.
- Routledge Handbook of International Criminology The Routledge Handbook of International Criminologybrings together the latest thinking and findings from a diverse group of both senior and promising young scholars from around the globe. This collaborative project articulates a new way of thinking about criminology that extends existing perspectives in understanding crime and social control across borders, jurisdictions, and cultures, and facilitates the development of an overarching framework that is truly international.
- The Wiley International Handbook of Correctional Psychology A two-volume handbook that explores the theories and practice of correctional psychology With contributions from an international panel of experts in the field, The Wiley International Handbook of Correctional Psychology offers a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the most relevant topics concerning the practice of psychology in correctional systems.
Reference Handbooks
- Rape and Sexual Assault: A Reference Handbook This work explains the problem of sexual assault in the United States, including societal factors, notorious cases, laws and practices, victim advocacy and reform efforts, keys to recovery, and the difficulty of prosecuting many offenses. It discusses who the victims and offenders are, and what can be done to reduce the problem. It explores how poor prosecutorial leadership and rape culture have facilitated the problem and how shifts in attitude and policy could prevent them.
- Human Trafficking: A Reference Handbook This book offers a comprehensive understanding of human trafficking in its many forms. It examines the traffickers who range from single operators to large, transnational organizations and investigates how they coerce, deceive, and exploit their victims in the domestic service, farming, construction, and sex industries as well as in the harvesting of organs. The coverage includes common practices of human trafficking like sexual exploitation of women in Western and Central Europe, labor exploitation in the Middle East, and the exploitation of children in Western and Central Africa.
- Women in Prison : a Reference Handbook This volume explores women's incarceration, from the first women-only prison to modern state-of-the-art facilities. It explores controversies, problems, and solutions, such as excessive discipline, the lack of training programs, sexual abuse, medical services, and visitation policies. It investigates key issues such as the background of inmates, the disproportionate number of African American and Hispanic prisoners because of the "war on drugs," and how women cope with the separation from their children and families.
- Prisons in the United States: A Reference Handbook The book offers an accessible history of the development of the prison system in the United States and analyzes the various problems and controversies associated with prisons in the present day.
- Police Misconduct in America : a Reference Handbook Police Misconduct in America covers police history back to Mesopotamia, outlines controversies, provides a broad chronology of significant eras in police history and a timeline of specific events, and offers biographical sketches of key personalities from J. Edgar Hoover to Alice Stebbens Wells, the first American policewoman. It also includes are summaries of key Supreme Court cases, an extensive list of organizations concerned about police misconduct, government documents and agency publications, and other references.
- Profiling and Criminal Justice in America : a Reference Handbook This accessible, single-volume reference book examines profiling as it pertains to the criminal justice system in the United States, providing non-partisan information that illuminates the full scope of the profiling issue and discusses the possible impact of profiling on all American citizens.
- Childhood Sexual Abuse : a Reference Handbook Childhood Sexual Abuse: A Reference Handbook explores the many ways we define child sexual abuse in the United States and in different parts of the world and how those differences are represented in U.S. and international laws. It summarizes what we know about how to intervene, treat, and prevent childhood sexual abuse effectively and tells the stories of individuals who have had a dramatic effect on the handling of childhood sexual abuse. For students, social workers, teachers, policymakers, parents, and concerned citizens, this work offers a one-stop, multifaceted discussion of one of the major issues facing children and their families.
- Hate Crimes : a Reference Handbook The book contains vital history on hate crime legislation, provides a detailed chronology of recent events, and offers the most up-to-date information on its prevalence and the affected religious, racial, and other targeted communities, such as Jewish Americans and Sikh Americans.
- Juvenile Justice: A Reference Handbook Juvenile Justice: A Reference Handbook puts juvenile justice under the microscope, surveying its long history and key issues, exploring the myriad of problems and controversies tied to the juvenile justice system, and explains how policymakers and legal professionals have tried to solve these vexing issues.
- Gangs: a Reference Handbook Gangs: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition offers an eye-opening look at modern gangs—their history, their ability to attract members from a widening social pool, as well as efforts by community and political leaders to stop gang-related crime and weaken the grip that gangs have on our culture.
- Corporate Crime: a Reference Handbook Corporate Crime examines the ever-present problem of white-collar and corporate crime, not only within the United States but also worldwide.
- Sexual Crime: a Reference Handbook A contemporary, fact-filled resource on the historical, legal, medical, and political aspects of a wide variety of sexual crimes.
- Cybercrime : a Reference Handbook Cybercrime uses fascinating case studies to analyze the beginning of cybercrime and the path it has followed to the present day. With biographical sketches of many influential hackers, the reader will better understand the development of the cybercriminal, and how many of these individuals went on to create some of the computer industry's most useful software. From cyberstalking to viruses, scholars and students alike will find the answers they need to understand these issues.
- Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook This book offers concise, understandable coverage of all aspects of the issue, including incidence of gun violence; gun control; gun rights; government regulation, legislation, and court decisions; gun organizations (for gun control and for gun rights); gun enthusiast subcultures--for example, hunters, target shooters, and collectors; and U.S. attitudes toward guns.
- Homeland Security : a Reference Handbook Homeland Security: A Reference Handbook covers the precursor events and laws from 1965 to 2000 that set the stage for the 2002 law that established the Department of Homeland Security. It identifies and discusses a dozen problems associated with homeland security policy objectively, allowing readers to come to their own conclusions. Additionally, it addresses all of the major units and agencies within the department.
- The Death Penalty: A Reference Handbook Contains primary documents relevant to capital punishment, such as excerpts from documents like the U.S. Constitution, as well as descriptions of and excerpts from key cases decided by the U.S. Supreme Court.
