Education Research

Action Research: Improving Schools and Empowering Educators introduces both novice and experienced practicing educators to the process of designing and conducting classroom-based action research in order to make their instructional practices more effective. This practical text focuses on the research methods and procedures that educators can use in their everyday instructional practices, classroom activities, and school procedures. Using over 20 years of teaching experience, author Craig A. Mertler provides insightful coverage of the knowledge and skills needed to design research studies, conduct research, and communicate findings to relevant stakeholders.

NOTE: Before purchasing, check with your instructor to ensure you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of the MyLab(tm) and Mastering(tm) platforms exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use MyLab or Mastering, you may also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide.   Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for the MyLab platform may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase. This package includes MyLab Education. A practical, step-by-step core research text that balances coverage of qualitative, quantitative and combined methods Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research offers a truly balanced, inclusive, and integrated overview of the processes involved in educational research. This text first examines the general steps in the research process and then details the procedures for conducting specific types of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods studies. Direct guidance on reading research is offered throughout the text, and features provide opportunities for practice. Throughout the 6th Edition, examples are now drawn from a broad range of fields, including program evaluation, multicultural research, counseling, school psychology, and learning and cognition. In addition, enhanced coverage incorporates the latest technology-based strategies and online tools, and more information about single-subject research methods. Reach every student by pairing this text with MyLab Education MyLab is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Education helps learners understand the basic vocabulary of educational research, acquire hands-on experience, and get guided practice in understanding research articles and in conducting and reporting their own research. 0134458966 / 9780134458960 Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research plus MyLab Education with Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of:   0134519361 / 9780134519364 Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research     0134546563 / 9780134546568 MyLab Education with Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research

It seems like most of what we read about the academic social sciences in the mainstream media is negative. The field is facing mounting criticism, as canonical studies fail to replicate, questionable research practices abound, and researcher social and political biases come under fire. In response to these criticisms, Matt Grossmann, in How Social Science Got Better, provides a robust defense of the current state of the social sciences. Applying insights from the philosophy, history, and sociology of science and providing new data on research trends and scholarly views, he argues that, far from crisis, social science is undergoing an unparalleled renaissance of ever-broader understanding and application. According to Grossmann, social science research today has never been more relevant, rigorous, or self-reflective because scholars have a much better idea of their blind spots and biases. He highlights how scholars now closely analyze the impact of racial, gender, geographic, methodological, political, and ideological differences on research questions; how the incentives of academia influence our research practices; and how universal human desires to avoid uncomfortable truths and easily solve problems affect our conclusions. Though misaligned incentive structures of course remain, a messy, collective deliberation across the research community has shifted us into an unprecedented age of theoretical diversity, open and connected data, and public scholarship.Grossmann's wide-ranging account of current trends will necessarily force the academy's many critics to rethink their lazy critiques and instead acknowledge the path-breaking advances occurring in the social sciences today.

The Routledge Reviewer's Guide to Mixed Methods Analysis is a groundbreaking edited book - the first devoted solely to mixed methods research analyses, or mixed analyses. Each of the 30 seminal chapters, authored by internationally renowned scholars, provides a simple and practical introduction to a method of mixed analysis. Each chapter demonstrates "how to conduct the analysis" in easy-to-understand language. Many of the chapters present new topics that have never been written before, and all chapters offer cutting-edge approaches to analysis. The book contains the following four sections: Part I Quantitative Approaches to Qualitative Data (e.g., factor analysis of text, multidimensional scaling of qualitative data); Part II Qualitative Approaches to Quantitative Data (e.g., qualitizing data, mixed methodological discourse analysis); Part III "Inherently" Mixed Analysis Approaches (e.g., qualitative comparative analysis, mixed methods social network analysis, social media analytics as mixed analysis, GIS as mixed analysis); and Part IV Use of Software for Mixed Data Analysis (e.g., QDA Miner, WordStat, MAXQDA, NVivo, SPSS). The audience for this book includes (a) researchers, evaluators, and practitioners who conduct a variety of research projects and who are interested in using innovative analyses that will allow them to extract more from their data; (b) academics, including faculty who would use this book in their scholarship, as well as in their graduate-level courses, and graduate students who need access to a comprehensive set of mixed analysis tools for their dissertations/theses and other research assignments and projects; and (c) computer-assisted data analysis software developers who are seeking additional mixed analyses to include within their software programs.