Skip to Main Content
Companion to Women's and Gender Studies
A comprehensive overview of the interdisciplinary field of Women's and Gender Studies, featuring original contributions from leading experts from around the world The Companion to Women's and Gender Studies is a comprehensive resource for students and scholars alike, exploring the central concepts, theories, themes, debates, and events in this dynamic field.
A Dictionary of Gender Studies
This dictionary provides clear and accessible definitions of a range of terms from within the fast-developing field of gender studies. It covers terms such as cyber feminism, the double burden, and the male gaze, and gender-focused definitions of more general terms, such as housework, intersectionality, and trolling.
Historical Dictionary of Feminism
This succinct handbook includes more than 1,000 entries covering the persons, organizations, campaigns and court cases, goals and achievements, and current and future directions of the feminist movement, 75 percent of which are new and revised from the first edition. It also features a more internationally focused introduction that provides an overview of the history and development of feminism as a movement and as a philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
The Encyclopedia of Gender and Society covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
Women's lives around the world : a global encyclopedia
This four-volume encyclopedia examine the lives of women around the world, with coverage that includes the education of girls and teens; the key roles women play in their families, careers, religions, and cultures; how issues for women intersect with colonialism, transnationalism, feminism, and established norms of power and control.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
This groundbreaking reference set documents the achievements and current challenges for women in more than 130 countries in the world's most populated areas.
Shapers of the Great Debate on Women's Rights: a Biographical Dictionary
The three waves of feminism are explored through the lives of the women who made history in bringing women's issues to the forefront of American society. Many early feminists supported not only women's rights, but also rights of slaves and contributed to the passing of the Thirteenth Amendment, granting emancipation to slaves.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Contains over three hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about issues related to marriage and family, focusing on the diversity of marriage and family lifestyles in fifty countries representative of the regions of the world.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women provides clear, current, comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of Islam and women. With more than 450 articles written by leading international experts and with a concentration on contemporary issues, it is a single source for accurate overview articles covering all aspects of this flourishing area of research.
Biographical dictionary of women's movements and feminisms in Central, Eastern, and South Eastern Europe 19th and 20th centuries
150 expertly-researched biographical portraits (with pictures) of women and men who were active in, or part of, women's movements and feminisms in 22 countries in Central, Eastern and South Eastern Europe in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, etc.) of women in these societies.
Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work
This major 2-volume set is the first to treat in an inclusive reference what is usually considered a societal failing and the underside of sexuality and economic survival. The A-to-Z encyclopedia offers wide-ranging entries related to prostitution and the sex industry, past and present, both worldwide (mostly in the West) and in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Rape and Sexual Violence
Content illuminates all aspects of this serious issue, including the forms of trauma experienced by survivors/victims; different types of rape, from incest to acquaintance rape to prison rape; specific cases, events, and controversies; laws, policies, movements, and organizations pertaining to the issue; and legal, political, and cultural contributors to rape and other forms of sexual violence.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health
The Encyclopedia of Women's Health meets this challenge by bringing together an impressive array of experts on topics from reproductive issues to gastrointestinal illnesses. This skilfully edited volume, informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
Encyclopedia of Women in American History
This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present.
The Oxford Encyclopedia Women in World History
With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.
Handbook on Gender and Social Policy
Providing a state of the art overview, this comprehensive Handbook is an essential introduction to the subject of Gender and Social Policy. Bringing together original contributions and research from leading researchers it covers the theoretical perspectives of the field, the central policy terrain of gender inequalities of income, employment and care, and family policy. Examining gender and social policy at both the regional and national level, the Handbook is an excellent resource for advanced students and scholars of sociology, political science, women’s studies, policy studies as well as practitioners seeking to understand how gender shapes the contours of social policy and politics.
Rape and Sexual Assault: A Reference Handbook
This work explains the problem of sexual assault in the United States, including societal factors, notorious cases, laws and practices, victim advocacy and reform efforts, keys to recovery, and the difficulty of prosecuting many offenses. It discusses who the victims and offenders are, and what can be done to reduce the problem. It explores how poor prosecutorial leadership and rape culture have facilitated the problem and how shifts in attitude and policy could prevent them.
Sex and Gender: A Reference Handbook
Readers of this reference book will examine a number of important current issues relating to sex and gender, such as transgenderism, gender dysphoria, same-sex attraction, the development of gender roles, the changing perspectives on these topics, and other controversial and unresolved issues in American society today. The book also includes a Data and Documents chapter that contains laws, courts cases, and other primary documents that relate to current issues involving sex and gender.
Anthropology/Sociology & interim Philosophy Librarian