Skip to Main Content
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender program provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas.
Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Contains documents from the Schlesinger Library's holdings on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.
Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
This database includes records of the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. The NWP was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and colleagues broke away from the National American Woman Suffrage Association in dissent over strategy and tactics. The WAA, established in 1971, concerned itself with issues such as employment, childcare, health care, and education. The LWV collection covers women's involvement in U.S. politics from 1920 to 1974.
Southern Women and their Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries, 1671-1979 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
This collection contains documents from the holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Contains two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps. Primary sources document a wide range of issues pertinent to women during this time of turbulent change, including studies on the treatment of women by unions in several Midwestern industrial centers, and the influx of women to industrial centers during the war.
Defining Gender (AM Explorer)
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective
Gender: Identity & Social Change (AM Explorer)
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Sex & Sexuality (AM Explorer)
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
Everyday Life and Women in America, c. 1800-1920 (AM Explorer)
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Women in the National Archives (AM Explorer)
This collection consists of two distinct elements:
A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives
Original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
Guide to Women's Studies in ArtStor
This page highlights Artstor content related to the study of the history and depiction of women across world cultures, including images of women in a variety of domestic and professional roles, women’s rights movements, and representations of famous female figures from history, art, and literature.