Highlighted Book Chapter
Chapter 17: Science fiction futures: contemporary developments
by Thomas Lombardo
July 2024, pages 223–239
In Book: Handbook of Futures Studies, 2024
Edited by Roberto Pol
Highlighted Journal Articles
Science fiction and the quest for innovation
by Francesco Appio, Thomas Michaud, Sherryl Vint, Lisa Yaszek
Technovation, Volume 141, March 2025
----------------------------------------------
The Genre of Science Fiction
Virginia F. Bereit
Elementary English, Vol. 46, No. 7 (NOVEMBER, 1969), pp. 895-900
------------------------------------------------
Even teleoperated robots are discriminated against in science fictions
Robin R. Murphy
Science Robotics, 2024-12, Vol.9 (97)
A robot body is not a shield from discrimination in John Scalzi’s science fiction novel Head On
----------------------------------------------------
Science Fiction Books:
Indian Science Fiction : Patterns, History and Hybridity by Publication Date: 2020
Fear of Seeing: A Poetics of Chinese Science Fiction by Publication Date: 2023
Darwinian Feminism and Early Science Fiction by Publication Date: 2018
Sisters of Tomorrow: The First Women of Science Fiction by Publication Date: 2016
Speculative Blackness: The Future of Race in Science Fiction by Publication Date: 2016
Keywords to search for books:
Search for Articles
Databases to search for scholarly articles
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window
BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides access to academic literature from many disciplines. The sources include articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions and come from diverse places including academic publishers, online repositories and other websites.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
