Useful Websites
- Science Fiction Research AssociationThe oldest professional organization for the study of science fiction and fantasy literature and film.
- Science Fiction Foundation"promotes science fiction and bring together those who read, write, study, teach, research or archive science fiction in Britain and the rest of the world."
- The Internet Speculative Fiction DatabaseA community effort to catalog works of science fiction, fantasy, and horror ISFD links together various types of bibliographic data.
- Encyclopedia of Science FictionProvides a comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms.
Science Fiction Collections
- MIT Science Fiction SocietyThe world's largest public open-shelf collection of science fiction is the MIT SFS Library. Collection includes magazines, some foreign-language material and science-fiction related books. Anyone can browse the collection whenever the Library is open, and members can borrow from the circulating section. Membership is open to anyone.
- Paskow Science Fiction Collection (Temple University)This collection documents the evolution of science fiction and fantasy writing from the late 19th through the 20th century. The collection includes pulp and slick magazines, posters, paintings, drawing, and related ephemera.
- J. Wayne and Elsie M. Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction (University of Kansas)Since 1982, the J. Wayne and Elsie M. Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction (CSSF) has offered courses, classroom resources, writing awards, and public events focused on shared inquiry, celebration, and creation of genres such as science fiction, fantasy, Afrofuturism, fabulist fiction, horror, fan fiction, speculative poetry, neo-Gothic narratives, and posthumanism.
Exhibit Sources: Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Exhibit Sources: Movies & Video
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth indexing of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and biographical information for film personalities. It also includes presentations from international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
Exhibit Sources: Newspapers
- New York Times (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text of the New York Times back issues. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2021, please use Nexis Uni. For access to nytimes.com, see New York Times (website access).
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International, searchable, full text of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.)
