Online Primary Sources
Hume, C. R. "Ex-War Chief of the Kiowas with a War Bonnet - Koyei. Stamped in Ink on Verso: Photographed by Mrs. C. R. Hume Anadarko, O. T." Annette Ross Hume Photograph Collection, Primary Source Media. Indigenous Peoples of North America, link.gale.com/apps/doc/BMBLQB442809957/INDP?u=bost31358_rbw&sid=bookmark-INDP&xid=c69fba05&pg=1. Accessed 24 May 2024.
Newpapers
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Chronicling America: Newspapers of Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaSearchable digitized copies of newspapers produced by native peoples of North America between 1828 and 1963 (28 titles currently available). Part of the Chronicling America newspaper project at the Library of Congress.
Government and Legal Documents
- Indigenous peoples of the Americas : history, culture & law.With nearly 1,000 titles unique to this collection and more than 1.2 million total pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this library includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. This library also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online.
- Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
Indian Claims Insight provides research tools to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, and related statutes and congressional publications.
General Collections
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowThis collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century. Part I contains primary sources including manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, and images of artwork. Part II contains records of the Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window
Contains documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
- American Indian Movement and Native American RadicalismFormed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
- The Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and CompanyComprising the papers of the Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm, this collection is the most complete ethnographic collection available for the study of the American Indians of the Southeast.
