Indigenous and Native American Studies

First Published in 1996. Articles on present-day tribal groups comprise more than half of the coverage, ranging from essays on the Navajo, Lakota, Cherokee, and other large tribes to shorter entries on such lesser-known groups as the Hoh, Paugusett, and Tunica-Biloxi. Also 25 inlcludes maps.

This source covers the civilization and culture of the indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada--both historic and contemporary. Included are signed essays, annotated directories, excerpts and biographies. Each chapter contains a subject-specific bibliography, photographs, maps and charts (400 illustrations in all). This 2nd edition also includes a new chapter, "Women and Gender Relations."

Native Americans in the United States, similar to other indigenous people, created political, economic, and social movements to meet and adjust to major changes that impacted their cultures. For centuries, Native Americans dealt with the onslaught of non-Indian land claims, the appropriation of their homelands, and the destruction of their ways of life. Through various movements, Native Americans accepted, rejected, or accommodated themselves to the nontraditional worldviews of the colonizers and their policies. The Historical Dictionary of Native American Movements is designed to provide a useful reference for students and scholars to consult on topics dealing with key movements, organizations, leadership strategies, and the major issues these groups confronted. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Native American Movements contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 200 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, language, religion, politics, and the environment.

An ingenious cross between a glossary, a dictionary, and an encyclopedia, this book is a unique word book covering every aspect of Native American culture. Entries provide brief definitions, information about language usage, specific references in Native American history, alternate spellings and numerous cross-references to related subjects.

More than 1,200 cross-referenced entries describe traditional beliefs and worship practices, the consequences of contact with Europeans and other Americans, and the forms Native American religions take today.