Citing Sources
Why is citing important?
It's important to cite sources you used in your research for several reasons:
- To be a responsible scholar by giving credit to other researchers and acknowledging their ideas
- To allow your reader to track down the sources you used by citing them accurately in your paper by way of footnotes, a bibliography or reference list
- To uphold BU's Academic Conduct Code, which establishes an environment of professionalism that helps to assure each individual receives appropriate recognition for their work
What is plagiarism?
- Plagiarism is using someone else’s ideas or words without giving them proper credit. Plagiarism can range from unintentional (forgetting to include a source in a bibliography) to intentional (buying a paper online, using another writer’s ideas as your own to make your work sound smarter)
- Beginning writers and expert writers alike can all plagiarize
- The best way to avoid plagiarism is to properly cite every source used in your work
What is academic integrity?
- The International Center for Academic Integrity defines academic integrity “as a commitment, even in the face of adversity, to six fundamental values: honesty, trust, fairness, respect, responsibility, and courage. From these values flow principles of behavior that enable academic communities to translate ideals to action"
- For more information about plagiarism and academic integrity, see the Boston University Academic Conduct Code
APA Style
APA stands for the American Psychological Association and is the format designed for use within the field of psychology. However, other disciplines use APA as well, so always use the format your professor chooses.
Publication Manual 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by Location: Mugar Reference BF76.7 P83 2020
Pickering Educational Resources Library Reference BF76.7 P83 2020 cop. 2ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.
- APA Style GuideThe APA maintains its own website with multiple examples of how to format your paper and cite your sources.
Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Location: Mugar Reference Z253 .U69 2017
Music Library Open reserve Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017
- The Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is a searchable guide for the Chicago style of citation, editorial, and publishing practices. It includes 16th and 17th editions plus Q&A content, sample forms, letters, and style sheets, and other tools.
- Chicago Style, 17th Edition by Excelsior Online Writing Lab17th Edition Chicago-style citations utilize two distinct formats: the notes and bibliography format and the author-date format. Both formats usually include a separate bibliography page where all references are listed. Students should double-check with their instructors about which format is preferred.
Turabian Style
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Location: Mugar Reference LB2369 T8
Sci/Eng Reference LB2369 T8
Education Reference LB2369 T8
Pardee Reference LB2369 T8
Music Reference LB2369 T8ISBN: 9780226816265Publication Date: 1996-04-01For nearly sixty years Kate L. Turabian's Manual for writers has offered comprehensive and detailed guidance to writers of research papers--term papers, theses, and dissertations. Now the editors of The Chicago manual of style have revised Turabian's Manual to bring the details of style into conformity with the fourteenth edition of the Chicago manual. This new edition of 'Turabian' reflects the way students work today, taking into account the role of personal computers in the preparation and presentation of their papers.
Harvard Style
- Harvard Format Citation GuideMendeley's complete guide to Harvard in-text and reference list citations. This easy-to-use, comprehensive guide makes citing any source easy.
MLA Style
MLA stands for the Modern Language Association, and its style guidelines have been assisting authors since 1951. MLA style is most commonly used to cite sources within the language arts, cultural studies, and other humanities disciplines. For more information, please consult the official MLA Handbook (9th ed.).
Please note that MLA guidelines do change over time, so it’s important to be aware of the most current information. As always, follow the requirements of your teacher or professor; their requirements take precedence.
- MLA Formatting & Style GuideExcelsior's Online Writing Lab offers this open access style guide, tutorial, and checklist for formatting your papers in MLA style.
- MLA Essay TemplateThe Excelsior Online Writing Lab created this template to give writers a foundation for formatting using the Modern Language Association guidelines.
- MLA Style: How to Format (Excelsior Online Writing Lab)Excelsior Online Writing Lab is an excellent open-access resource for citing in MLA style.
MLA Handbook by Location: Mugar Reference LB2369 G5ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index.
NLM (National Library of Medicine Style)
Citing Medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers
The official style manual for the National Library of Medicine (NLM), and suggested when citing documents from the associated databases MedLine and PubMed. The online edition supercedes the print edition as the most up to date.
General Citation Guides
- EasyBib.comEasyBib.com has partnered with WorldCat, and can format, alphabetize and print a bibliography based on APA, MLA, or Chicago styles.
- Excelsior Online Writing Lab: Citation & DocumentationThis section features instructional videos that show you how to set up your papers in APA, MLA, and Chicago formats, interactive checklists, and visual support for both in-text documenting and referencing at the end of your paper.
- Purdue Online Writing LabThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
