Skip to Main Content
BU Databases
ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
The ARTFL Project consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises.
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
This database provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, including information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. Over 1,000 different archival institutions are represented. ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
Archives and Digital Collections
Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA pulls together American cultural content from museums, archives, and libraries (check for terms of use and re-use). Use it for images of productions, texts, programs, and some sound and video.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Provides thousands of digital images from the NYPL collections including historical maps, illuminated manuscripts, and prints and photographs. It contains texts and images from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Smithsonian Institution Collections
Includes millions of records, including images, of resources in the Smithsonian collections.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Gallica
Explore the digital collections of the French National Library by theme, chronological period or geographic region
History of France - Primary Documents
A major source of primary documents dating from antiquity and covering all major historical events from the French Revolution, World War I and II and continuing to the present.
