Disability Pride Month
July is Disability Pride Month! This annual observance is used to promote visibility and mainstream awareness of the positive pride felt by people with disabilities. Disability Pride Month is celebrated every July and is an opportunity to honor the history, achievements, experiences, and struggles of the disability community. Why July? It marks the anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, landmark legislation that broke down barriers to inclusion in society.
Featured Books for Disability Pride Month
Research Handbook on Disability and Entrepreneurship
Location: Online
By exploring the economic and social value of disabled people with positive entrepreneurial traits and adaptive skills, this innovative book breaks away from normative entrepreneurial studies to recognize the overlooked value in disabled entrepreneurs. In the study of entrepreneurship, the social tendency to disregard people with disabilities has caused a paucity of knowledge about the successful ventures of disabled people worldwide. Seeking to improve public understanding of disabled entrepreneurs, this pioneering book re-evaluates their identity, value and contribution beyond economic, cultural and geographical contexts. . Exploring the push and pull factors that exist for disabled people in the entrepreneurial ecosystem, chapters disassemble the socially institutionalized barriers to important sources of value creation by disabled entrepreneurs.
Disability Visibility : First-Person Stories From the Twenty-First Century
Location: Online
One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent-but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act. This anthology gives a glimpse into the rich complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and the past with hope and love.
A Disability History of the United States
Location: Online and Mugar Library Stacks HV1553 .N54 2012
Covering the entirety of US history from pre-1492 to the present, A Disability History of the United States is the first book to place the experiences of people with disabilities at the center of the American narrative. In many ways, it's a familiar telling. In other ways, however, it is a radical repositioning of US history. By doing so, the book casts new light on familiar stories, such as slavery and immigration, while breaking ground about the ties between nativism and oralism in the late nineteenth century and the role of ableism in the development of democracy. Engrossing and profound, A Disability History of the United States fundamentally reinterprets how we view our nation's past- from a stifling master narrative to a shared history that encompasses us all.
Books for Disability Pride Month
Disability and Equity at Work by
Despite international and national guarantees of equal rights, there remains a great deal to be done to achieve global employment equality for individuals with disabilities. In OECD countries, the employment rate of persons with disabilities was just over 40%, compared to 75% for personswithout a disability; in many low- and middle-income countries, the employment rates are even lower.There are numerous reasons why persons with disabilities fare poorly in the labor market; Disability and Equity at Work is the first book to document what can be done to improve this imbalance. Chapters in this volume address all relevant facets of this topic and include:* Extensive examination of the factors contributing to inequitable access to work among persons with disability* Analysis of the economic benefits of increasing employment equity* Successful employment strategies at every stage of a worker's career* Evidence-based recommendations and in-depth case studies of innovative policies and programs around the worldChapter contributors include leaders from international organizations, government, civil society, and academia, including experts from UN agencies, leaders in nongovernmental advocacy and research organizations, and senior academics in the field. Disability and Equity at Work fills a needed gapthat will appeal to those interested in and engaged in public policy, global health, equal rights, business, labor, and other fields.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Being Heumann: Being Heumann: An Unrepentant Memoir of a Disability Rights Activist by
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year for Nonfiction "...an essential and engaging look at recent disability history."-- Buzzfeed One of the most influential disability rights activists in US history tells her personal story of fighting for the right to receive an education, have a job, and just be human. A story of fighting to belong in a world that wasn't built for all of us and of one woman's activism--from the streets of Brooklyn and San Francisco to inside the halls of Washington--Being Heumann recounts Judy Heumann's lifelong battle to achieve respect, acceptance, and inclusion in society. Paralyzed from polio at eighteen months, Judy's struggle for equality began early in life. From fighting to attend grade school after being described as a "fire hazard" to later winning a lawsuit against the New York City school system for denying her a teacher's license because of her paralysis, Judy's actions set a precedent that fundamentally improved rights for disabled people. As a young woman, Judy rolled her wheelchair through the doors of the US Department of Health, Education, and Welfare in San Francisco as a leader of the Section 504 Sit-In, the longest takeover of a governmental building in US history. Working with a community of over 150 disabled activists and allies, Judy successfully pressured the Carter administration to implement protections for disabled peoples' rights, sparking a national movement and leading to the creation of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Candid, intimate, and irreverent, Judy Heumann's memoir about resistance to exclusion invites readers to imagine and make real a world in which we all belong.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Promoting Social Inclusion : Co-Creating Environments That Foster Equity and Belonging by
This volume in the International Perspectives on Inclusive Education Series explores innovative perspectives and practices regarding social inclusion of potentially marginalized individuals from multiple perspectives. This book blends theoretical and evidence-based research about social inclusion and belonging, while simultaneously giving voice to families and individuals who have sought to obtain an inclusive education when experiencing a disability. Section 1, Social Inclusion: Affirming value, rights and choice, explores social inclusion from various frameworks including psychology, philosophy, human rights, social justice, hope and equity. The second section, Social Inclusion and Schools: Programs, perspectives, and practices, reviews a number of evidence-based curricula and interventions to promote social inclusion within educational contexts. Section 3, Securing presence: Dignity, agency and voice, highlights the importance of attending to and learning directly from children with disabilities. Finally, Section 4, Transition to higher education and employment, describes the continuing importance of social inclusion in transition to young adulthood and the workplace. Each chapter offers strategies, guidelines and examples of how professionals, family members and individuals can collaborate to make affirming and co-creating communities that foster equity and belonging for all.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
The Palgrave Handbook of Disability at Work by
This scholarly handbook covers all aspects of people with disabilities entering the workplace, including the legal aspects, transitions, types, and levels of employments, the impact of different disabilities, and the consideration of the intersection of disability with other identities such as gender and ethnicity. Comprehensive in scope, chapters look beyond organizational strategies that accommodate an employee's disability and use case studies to highlight important issues and the individual's perspective. The handbook concludes with a reflection on the work included in the book, what was not included and why, and makes recommendations for future disability research. Marking a major contribution to the study of workplace diversity and bringing together academics from various disciplines and global regions, this handbook covers a truly broad and diverse mix of approaches, theories, and models.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Disability and Employer Practices : Research across the Disciplines by
This book is about the employment of people with disabilities in the United States and the important role of employer practices. Nearly one in five people report some form of disability, and they are only half as likely to be employed as those without disabilities. With the aging workforce and returning military veterans both contributing to increasing number of disabilities in the workplace, there is an urgent need for better ways to address continuing employment disparities for people with disabilities. Examining employer behaviors is critical to changing this trend. It is essential to understand the factors that motivate employers to engage this workforce and which specific practices are most effective. Disability and Employer Practices features research-based documentation of workplace policies and practices that result in the successful recruitment, retention, advancement, and inclusion of individuals with disabilities.The Cornell team whose work is featured in this book drew from multiple disciplines, data sources, and methodologies to learn where employment disparities for people with disabilities occur and to identify workplace policies and practices that might remediate them. The contributors include individuals with expertise in the fields of business, economics, education, environmental design and analysis, human resources, management, industrial/organizational psychology, public health, rehabilitation psychology, research methods, survey design, educational measurement, statistics, and vocational rehabilitation counseling.Contributors Linda Barrington, Institute for Compensation Studies, ILR School, Cornell University Susanne M. Bruyère, K. Lisa Yang and Hock E. Tan Institute on Employment and Disability, ILR School, Cornell University Hassan Enayati, K. Lisa Yang and Hock E. Tan Institute on Employment and Disability, ILR School, Cornell University William A. Erickson, K. Lisa Yang and Hock E. Tan Institute on Employment and Disability, ILR School, Cornell University Kevin Hallock, Institute for Compensation Studies, ILR School, Cornell University Arun Karpur, K. Lisa Yang and Hock E. Tan Institute on Employment and Disability, ILR School, Cornell University Lisa Nishii, Human Resource Studies, ILR School, Cornell University Ellice Switzer, K. Lisa Yang and Hock E. Tan Institute on Employment and Disability, ILR School, Cornell University Sarah von Schrader, K. Lisa Yang and Hock E. Tan Institute on Employment and Disability, ILR School, Cornell University Sara Van Looy, K. Lisa Yang and Hock E. Tan Institute on Employment and Disability, ILR School, Cornell University
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
Employing People with Disabilities: Good Organisational Practices and Socio-cultural Conditions by
Developing better employment and management practices for a diverse workplace is quickly becoming a major concern amongst most modern organisations; however, a lack of research into good practices has a limiting effect. Dealing specifically with disabilities, this pioneering work is based on international research spanning several European countries to demonstrate best practice. Aiming to fill a gap in knowledge, the authors offer interdisciplinary insights into managing diversity in the workplace, taking into account various social and cultural contexts. Providing analysis and recommendations for adapting organisational practices to different workplace settings, this Palgrave Pivot is a vital read for scholars of HRM and diversity management, as well as policy-makers and practitioners.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
Twenty-Two Cents an Hour: Disability Rights and the Fight to End Subminimum Wages by
In Twenty-Two Cents an Hour, Doug Crandell uncovers the harsh reality of people with disabilities in the United States who are forced to work in unethical conditions for subminimum wages with little or no opportunity to advocate for themselves, while wealthy CEOs grow even wealthier as a direct result. As recently as 2016, the United States Congress enacted bipartisan legislation which continued to allow workers with disabilities to legally be paid far lower than the federal minimum wage. Drawing on ongoing federal Department of Justice lawsuits, the horrifying story of Henry's Turkey Farm in Iowa, and more, Crandell shows the history of the policies that have led to these unjust outcomes, examines who benefits from this legislation, and asks important questions about the rise of a disability industrial complex. Exposing this complex?which is rooted in profit, lobbying, and playing on the emotions of workers' parents and families, as well as the public?Crandell challenges readers to reexamine how we treat some of our most vulnerable fellow citizens. Twenty-Two Cents an Hour forces the reader to face the reality of this exploitation, and builds the framework needed for reform.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2022
Autism Equality in the Workplace : Removing Barriers and Challenging Discrimination by
Neurodiversity in the workplace can be a gift. Yet only 15% of adults with an autism spectrum condition (ASC) are in full-time employment. This book examines how the working environment can embrace autistic people in a positive way. The author highlights common challenges in the workplace for people with ASC, such as discrimination and lack of communication or the right kind of support from managers and colleagues, and provides strategies for changing them. Setting out practical, reasonable adjustments such as a quiet room or avoiding disruption to work schedules, this book demonstrates how day to day changes in the workplace can make it more inclusive and productive for all employees. Autism in the Workplace is intended for any person with an interest in changing working culture to ensure equality for autistic people. It is an essential resource for employers, managers, trade unionists, people with ASCs and their workmates and supporters.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
User Services Coordinator
Basilio Serna
Contact:
617-353-4301