Search Strategy Examples
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase.com is the database equivalent of EXCERPTA MEDICA. It is a comprehensive, international database covering Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
Working with your Research Question
Once you have your research question, it is helpful to break down your question into separate concepts. This will allow you to identify keywords for each element of your PICO question.
Example: For adults with adhesive capsulitis, are electrotherapy modalities associated with improved function?
Concept 1 (population): adults
Concept 2 (additional population keywords): adhesive capsulities
Concept 3 (Intervention): electrotherapy modalities
Concept 4: (Outcome): improved function
In this case, your phrases and keywords for your search will include: adults, adhesive capsulitis, electrotherapy modalities, improvied function.
Note: in order to make your search as comprehensive as possible, you may want to consider leaving out keywords that describe your outcome.
Controlled vocabulary refers to the standardized terms that the indexers of the database use to "tag" article abstracts and make them easier for the user to find. Working with controlled vocabulary terms can help you identify relevant articles.
Each database has a sub-database that allows you to search for and identify controlled vocabulary:
- PubMed's MeSH Database
- Embase's Emtree Database
- CINAHL's Subject Headings
- APA PsycInfo's Thesaurus
Keywords describe the everyday language that you might use to describe a patient, condition, or intervention. When preparing for an advanced search, it can be helpful to use both controlled vocabulary and keywords.
Here is an example of controlled vocabulary and keywords for this question:
For adults with adhesive capsulitis, are electrotherapy modalities associated with improved function?
|
Concept |
Controlled Vocabulary | Keywords/Synonyms |
|---|---|---|
| adults | adult | adult, adults, young adults, middle aged, aged |
| Adhesive Capsulitis | Bursitis | Frozen Shoulder, Adhesive Capsulitis, Bursitis |
| electrotherapy modalities | electric stimulation therapy | electrotherapy, electric stimulation therapy, electrical stimulation |
Search Tools
Designing your search strategy for a systematic review or scoping review search can be time-consuming. Fortunately, there are a number of tools that can make this process easier.
If you have already found a few PubMed articles that address your topic, looking at the MeSH terms assigned to these articles can help you get started. The Yale MeSH Analyzer makes it easy for you do to this by creating a grid of suggested MeSH terms from articles you have already identified.
A tool from the National Library of Medicine, MeSH on Demand allows you to cut and paste text from an article or manuscript. Based on that text, the tool will generate suggested MeSH terms for you, and provide links to related articles.
A crucial tool for helping you translate your search strategy between different databases.
